By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
KBA-sponsored welcome reception for newly sworn-in Kansas Attorneys
Placeholder Image

The Kansas Bar Association hosted a welcome reception on Sept. 30, to honor 190 new admittees of the Kansas Bar. The reception immediately followed the swearing-in ceremony, which was at the Topeka Performing Arts Center at 214 SE 8th Ave. KBA President Rachael Pirner, of Wichita, presented the newly admitted attorneys with a complimentary, one-year membership to the KBA.
Chief Justice Lawton Nuss, of the Kansas Supreme Court, presided over the swearing-in of the new Kansas attorneys. Carol Green, clerk of the Kansas Supreme Court, administered the Kansas Oath and Timothy M. O’Brien, clerk of the Federal Court, administered the Federal Oath.
The event was also attended by representatives from the Wichita Bar Association, Topeka Bar Association, Douglas County Bar Association, Washburn University School of Law, University of Kansas School of Law, Kansas Women Attorneys Association, Women Attorneys Association of Topeka, Kansas Association of Defense Counsel, Kansas Association for Justice, and Kansas Lawyers Assistance Program.
The following area individuals successfully passed the Kansas Bar exam and were eligible to be sworn in before the Kansas Supreme Court:
Audra Jean Asher, Sterling; Frank William Basgall, Otis; Jason Jeffrey Brozek, Great Bend; Brian Christopher Russell, Kansas City, Mo.
The swearing-in ceremony and KBA-sponsored welcome reception are held the last Friday of April and September each year.
Founded in 1882, the Kansas Bar Association is a voluntary professional association comprised of 7,000 members, including lawyers, judges, law students, and paralegals. The KBA is dedicated to advancing the professionalism of its members, encouraging public understanding of the law, and promoting the effective administration of our system of justice.