By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Leadership Kansas Class of 2013 Graduates
Placeholder Image

On Friday, October 25, the forty members of the 2013 Leadership Kansas Class celebrated the completion of the 2013 program at a reception and dinner hosted by the Kansas Chamber and the Leadership Kansas Board of Trustees at the Topeka Country Club. Throughout the course of the six-month program, the 2013 class engaged in discussions and debates with top experts on the key issues facing Kansas while visiting Topeka, Pittsburg, the Kansas City Metro area, Colby/Goodland, Wichita, and Garden City.
Leadership Kansas is a nationally recognized program that aims to develop and motivate future leaders in the state. An affiliated program of the Kansas Chamber, Leadership Kansas is one of the oldest and most prestigious statewide leadership programs in the country. Leadership Kansas is celebrating its 35th year of educating and motivating leaders from all four corners of the state. The program remains committed to its original mission to inspire persons to maintain involvement in the social, business and political fabric of Kansas communities.
“The forty graduates of the program now have a broader view and appreciation of our state, are more energized to shoulder leadership responsibilities in their communities and careers and have a much better understanding of statewide business, political and social issues” said Kansas Chamber President and CEO Mike O’Neal (Class of ‘85).
Each year, close to 600 people are nominated to apply for the program. Upon the conclusion of a thorough and thoughtful application and selection process, 40 individuals are selected to participate in the class. Leadership Kansas makes every effort to ensure geographic, racial, occupational, and gender diversity so that each class is truly representative of the state. The class of 2013 was approved by the Leadership Kansas Board of Trustees, chaired by Mark Knackendoffel (Class of ‘01). John Federico (Class of ‘97) serves as the Executive Director of Leadership Kansas.
Class of 2013 graduates: Joseph Bain, Goodland; Daniel Barwick, Independence; Elaine Bowers, Concordia; James Brown, Kansas City; Andrew Cobb, Andover; James (Jim) Colson, Topeka; Vance Crocker, Lawrence; Michelle Cuevas-Stubblefield, Topeka; Haley DaVee, Topeka; Dave Engel, Phillipsburg; Mitchell Fiser, Shawnee; Ryan Flickner, Wichita; Ted Gartner, Lenexa; Douglas Gerber, Goodland; Josh Gilmore, Sterling; Sue Givens, El Dorado; Shelley Hansel-Williams, Wellington; Jackie Hartman, Manhattan; Timothy Heenan, Chanute; Mark Hinde, Garden City;  Kimberly Honeycutt, Saint Marys; Steven Johnson, Assaria; Jamie Klausmeyer, Wichita; Timothy Lopatofsky, Leawood; Mark Lowry, Stockton; Jeffrey Martin, Meriden; Teresa Moravek, Overland Park; Andrew Myers, Pittsburg; Travis Oliver, Perry; Patti Petersen-Klein, Topeka; Steve Peterson, Andover; William Pickert, Wichita; Penny Postoak Ferguson, Lenexa; Coby Sedlacek, Hanover; Dan Soliday, Bel Aire; Gene Suellentrop, Wichita; Donna Thomas, Mission Hills; Christopher Tymeson, Topeka; Toni Wheeler, Lawrence; Brooke Yoder, Overland Park