By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Nex-Tech announces scholarship recipients
Placeholder Image

Each year, high school seniors living in the Rural Telephone and Nex-Tech service area with a parent or guardian subscribing to communication services are eligible to enter the Rural Telephone and Nex-Tech Scholarship Contest.
After compiling the application and interview scores, six winners are chosen. Three scholarships are awarded to students living in Rural Telephone exchanges, and three from communities served by Nex-Tech. The 2011 results are as follows:
First place $1500 winners were Erin Deenihan of Hill City and Austin Morgan of Great Bend. Erin is the daughter of Jan Deenihan. Austin is the son of Rod and Jennifer Morgan.
Second place $1000 winners were Kaden Roush of Lebanon and Sara Timmons of Smith Center. Kaden is the son of Kelly and Sue Roush. Sara is the daughter of Bradley and Barbara Timmons.
Third place $500 winners were David Hunt of Rexford and Trey Herman of Hays. David is the son of James and Tanya Hunt. Trey is the son of Darlene Herman.
The proceeds will be disbursed to the school of their choice in equal installments over the fall and spring semesters. All non-winning finalists received a $100 U.S. Savings Bond.
“This was my first year as a member of the judging panel, and I was very excited to see each of our applicants and all they had to offer,” said Maggie Ellis, Community Development Representative. “Each should feel very proud of all their hard work and accomplishments.”