By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Wheatland Electric trustees re-elcted during 73rd annual meeting in GB
Courtesy photo Wheatland Electric members at the Cooperative’s 73rd annual meeting 2021, April 14, in the Great Bend Events Center.

Wheatland Electric Cooperative Inc. re-elected three incumbents to its 10-member board of directors during the 2021 Annual Meeting held April 14 in Great Bend, and at seven remote meeting locations across southwest and south-central Kansas.  

Members of the electric cooperative who attended the 73rd Annual Meeting voted to re-elect Mike Thon for the position of trustee, District 3 (Greeley County/Tribune); Dan Bonine for the position of trustee, District 6 (Great Bend); and Mark Arnold for the position of trustee, District 7 (Harper/Caldwell). 

The gathering in Great Bend was simulcast to Wheatland members via livestream video at a remote location in each of the seven districts that Wheatland serves. Members at each location were able to ask questions, offer comments, or choose to make nominations from the floor, live during the meeting. 

Following the declaration of quorum, Wheatland Electric Board of Trustees President William Barnes announced 224 members present, both in person and at remote meeting sites, and 25 members present by proxy.  

In addition to voting, members watched a video presentation from Wheatland Electric Director of Finance Radona Smythe regarding the annual financial report. They also heard from other Wheatland executive staff during the 2020 annual summary video presentation, including updates from CEO and General Manager Bruce W. Mueller; Rick Klaus, director of operations; and Alli Conine, manager of member services and corporate communications. 

Trey Grebe, assistant general manager for Wheatland Electric, presented awards to 14 high school students from Wheatland’s service territory who were recipients of $1,000 scholarships. Grebe also announced the two students who will represent Wheatland Electric this summer at the virtual Kansas Electric Youth (KEY) Leadership Conference.

Board President Woody Barnes, District 7, also recognized several Wheatland Electric employees for their dedication to the cooperative, ranging from five years to 35 years of service. 

No new business was discussed at this year’s annual meeting. Recordings of videos presented at the meeting are accessible to the public at and on YouTube channel: