By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Berny Unruh-Barton County Extension Agent Column
Placeholder Image

The 76th annual 4-H Achievement Celebration was held on Sunday, Nov. 15, 2010. The theme was “4-H A Winning Hand”. Julie Bitter, 4-H Council secretary, and Ashley Lockwood, 4-H Council Treasurer, served as the emcees. The Kansas 4-H Key Award is the most prestigious award that a 4-H member can earn. Candidates must have exhibited outstanding contributions in leadership, citizenship, community service. They also must participate in county, area and state events including demonstration contests, judging contest and must hold club and county offices.  In simple terms, it recognizes 4-H members who have lived up to the high ideals expressed by the 4-H Club Pledge.  The three recipients of the 2010 Key Awards were Julie Bitter, Kristi DeWerff and Drew Reisner. The award was presented by Dustin Hattrup, representing American AgCredit in Larned.
All 4-H members have the opportunity each year to work towards earning an achievement pin.  There is a series of nine achievement pins.  In a year when the pin in the series cannot be obtained, the yearly membership pin can be earned.
Those receiving first year membership pins were: Dalton Dicks, Matthew Hicks, Alyssa Jean, Aubrey Snapp, Jeremiah Davis, Nicole Davis, Elizabeth Frakes, Sarah Frakes, Zeb Hughes, Breckyn Rowley, Alexa Straub, Nicole Likes, Kyle Rziha, Seth Tesch, Kaitlin Adams, Karly Brungardt, Grace Eckels, Molly Kaiser, Morgan Kaiser, Sayler Peplinski, Parker Smith.
Bronze Pin recipients were: BrayLynn Anshutz, Jade Mountain, Jordan Mountain, Katelyn Reh, Luke Wondra, Audrey Likes, Jacenda Gilbert. 
Clover Pin recipients were: BreAnn Anshutz, Katherine Hicks, Katherine Snapp, Mikey Hughes, Shiani Hughes, Dawnstar Tesch, Orrin Tesch.   Emerald Pin recipients were: McKenna Mauler, Joanna Lockwood, Roni Reames, Devin Boone, Jadin Boone, Heather Schneider.  
Silver Pin recipients were: Keely Ireland, Konner Ireland, Payton Mauler, Betsy Snell, Kirk Reisner, Anna Frizell.  
Silver Guard recipients were: Hannah Mauler, Jenna Snell, Cody Wondra, Kayleigh Bitter, Brinttain Noah, Jenna Hertel.   
Leadership pin recipient was Tiffany Schneider. 
Gold Pin winners were: Kyle Blakeslee, Kaitlyn Wondra, Julie Bitter,  Bonny Boultinghouse, Alexis Brack.  
Gold guard recipient was Colin Miller.  
Receiving yearly membership pins were: Kyle Clasen, Kristi DeWerff, Saul Miller, Jacob Durrett, Jeffrey Kaiser, Sarah Kaiser, Ashley Lockwood, Kaitlyn Rodie, Desmond Noah, Drew Reisner, Kayla Reisner.  
Barton County Project Award Winners are determined by their work in the project. On this application, youth report their goals set and their work accomplished in project, leadership and citizenship work. Kansas Award project winners from each club were:
Busy Buzzers 4-H Club - Dalton Dicks, Beef and Rabbits; Ellinwood Energizers 4-H Club - Cody Wondra - Bucket Calf and Swine; Jenna Snell - Communications and Photography Alternate;  Betsy Snell -Leadership, Communications Alternate and Foods & Nutrition Alternate;  Katelyn Reh - Shooting Sports and Dog Care and Training Alternate;  Jade Mountain - Health & Wellness; Jordan Mountain - Health & Wellness Alternate; Breckyn Rowley - Horse; Kyle Blakeslee - Plant Science;  Alexa Straub- Rabbits Alternate; Great Bend City Slickers - Kyle Rziha - Dog Care and Training Alternate; Hoisington Jets - Kayleigh Bitter  - Clothing & Textiles, Dog Care & Training, Foods & Nutrition; Photography, Plant Science Alternate, Reading, Visual Arts, Reporter’s Notebook Alternate, Kayla Reisner - Family Studies; Tiffany Schneider - Pets and Top Secretary Book; TLC Twisters- Bonny Boultinghouse - Citizenship.   
Farm Bureau supports leadership activities for young people and this year they provided recognition for those who served as 2010 4-H camp counselors at Rock Springs Ranch. Chris Clasen and Wendy Hughes representing Barton County Farm Bureau recognized Kaitlyn Rodie, Jacob Durrett, Drew Reisner and Colby Barton.   
Cloverbud 4-H members receiving certificates were: Emma Johnson, Allyson Kaiser, Emily Frakes, Lauren Knop, Isaac Mountain, Brynna Rowley, Alaina Straub, Camille Dolechek, Isabelle Mayer, Andromeda Tesch and Sean Hames  
4-H Clubs receiving the Purple Seal award were Busy Buzzers, Ellinwood Energizers, Eureka Homesteaders, Great Bend City Slickers, Hoisington Jets, South Bend Jolly Workers and TLC Twisters.