The Barton County Sheriff’s Office will be offering a Handgun Safety Training Course at the Barton County Sheriff’s Office Range and Training Facility, 396 NE 30 Rd., east of the Barton County Landfill north of Great Bend, on Saturday, March 20, from 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
The course is an eight-hour basic firearms safety class that must be completed as part of the application process for a concealed carry handgun license in Kansas. Although anyone 21 years old or older may take the course, not everyone is eligible to obtain a CCH license.
Instructors for the course are all Kansas law enforcement officers with various backgrounds and years of experience.
Participants should arrive a few minutes early, as the class begins promptly at 8 a.m. Participants need bring a photo identification, such as a Kansas driver’s license, and a writing utensil.
Participants will need their own reliable working handgun and be able to field strip the handgun in class. To learn how to do so, participants can refer to their gun’s manual or go online for instructions. They will need to bring their unloaded gun into class with them. All ammunition should be left in the participant’s vehicle. Participants will also need a minimum of 50 rounds of ammunition - 25 rounds for practice, 25 for qualification, with no reloads.
Participants are expected to wear appropriate clothing for the weather conditions, as qualification is outdoors. They should also bring appropriate eye protection and ear protection.
A light lunch will be provided, but if a participant has a special diet, they should bring their own lunch.
The cost of the class is $50 per person. The payment is non-refundable and must be paid prior to the day of the class in order to be guaranteed a spot. Participants may send a check or money order made payable to the Barton County Sheriff’s Department, or visit the Sheriff’s Office at 1416 Kansas Ave. to pay in person.