By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Cardinals begin debate season
hoi kl cardinal debate 3
Pictured from left to right are Robbie Willesden, Brandy Bodine, Ashley Durr, Shae Bitter, Abi Hurter and Zach Sanders at the debate workshop at FHSU.

HOISINGTON —For the 13 members of the Hoisington High School Cardinal Debate Team, the season has begun.
Robbie Willesden, Ashley Durr and Jenny Fercking competed at Great Bend the opening weekend. Willesden (a novice debating for the first time) and Durr competed in the open division. They compiled a 0-5 record, but earned valuable experience. Fercking was the alternate.
The second weekend of the season, the Cardinals hosted a 13 school open (varsity) tournament, the Garrett Blase Memorial Open Debate Tournament.
Last week, the team attended a debate workshop at Fort Hays State University.
This past weekend, Willesden, Shae Bitter,  Durr and  Fercking competed at Hays. In the open division, Fercking (a novice competing for the first time) and Durr went 0-5, but gained valuable experience. In the novice division, Willesden and Bitter (competing for her first time) earned a 2-3 record, defeating two Garden City teams. They lost to teams from Salina-Central, Great Bend and Colby.
Zach Sanders, Fercking, Ethan Woodcock, Abi Hurter, Shannon Manka and  Durr are scheduled to compete at Colby this weekend.
On Monday, Oct. 15, the team hosts a 14 school novice (first year debaters) tournament, the Garrett Blase Memorial Novice Debate Tournament. Abi Hurter,  Willesden, Woodcock, Megan Haynie, Brandy Bodine and Fercking will debate. Erica Schwager will serve as a student judge. Durr will manage the tournament.
Other action for the team includes tournaments at Dodge City, TMP-Marian, Kingman, Larned and Pratt.
Advanced debaters this year include Schwager and Shannon Manka. Junior varsity debaters include Durr, Deiah Curtis and Tim Lewis. Novice debaters include Bitter, Brandy Bodine,  Fercking, Megan Haynie, Hurter, Sanders, Willisden and Woodcock. The team is coached by Marion Oborny.