By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Barton Athletics honors annual achievements
spt CougarHead2C

This past Wednesday the Barton Community College Athletic Department celebrated the 2015-16 seasons with its end-of-the-year celebration banquet. Held annually in conjunction with its partnership with the Cougar Booster Club, the Department recognized and celebrated the accomplishments of its teams and individual student-athletes.
Master of ceremony and Athletic Director Trevor Rolfs introduced each team, as well as, presented special awards throughout the three-hour event. Headlining the awards was the recipient of the Cougar Booster Club Booster of the Year Award, Bob Harris. Presented by Rolfs and Booster Club President David Foss, Harris was acknowledged for his leadership and contributions to the booster club and the athletic department throughout the season.
Nominated and voted upon by coaches and staff, the athletic department also recognized its individual achievements by student-athletes.  Earning the student-athlete of the year awards were track and field’s Ayesha Champagnie of Kingston, Jamaica, for her record setting performances and dominance in the NJCAA, and men’s soccer player Renan Sousa of Sao Paulo, Brazil, in becoming Barton’s 14th men’s soccer All-American landing on the NJCAA second team.
Inspirational athletes nominated and voted upon for their stories-behind-the-story rising to accomplish collegiate achievements were awarded to two track team members, Widline Lageroy of Hollywood, Fla., and Anthony Adderly of Nassau, Bahamas.
Complete list of Awards
Booster of the Year: Bob Harris
Student-Athletes of the Year: Ayesha Champagnie (Women’s Track & Field), Renan Sousa (Men’s Soccer)
Inspirational Athletes of the Year: Widline Lageroy (Women’s Track & Field), Anthony Adderly (Men’s Track & Field)
Head Coach-of-the-Year: Doug Kaiser (Mens and Womens Golf)
Assistant Coach-of-the-Year: Alan Clark (Women’s Basketball)
Skylar Hill Most Inspirational Award (Baseball): Colton Zink (Claflin)
Top Freshman Student Athletic Trainer: Austin Welch (Ashland)
Top Sophomore Student Athletic Trainer: Chyenne Riggs (Hoisington)
Outstanding Student Athletic Trainer: Andy Ramos (Dodge City)