By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Baseball coach Warren resigns after 30 years at Barton
JUCO Baseball
Placeholder Image

Barton Community College Head Baseball Coach Mike Warren has officially resigned his position.
Warren leaves Barton after 30 years at the helm, going 904-630-1 and winning fiveKansas  Jayhawk Community College Conference Western Division championships, two Western Sub-Regional championships and earning four Western Division Coach of the Year honors.
“Mike Warren has meant more to Barton Community College athletics over his storied career than any other coach in the history of the college,” said Barton Athletic Director Trevor Rolfs.  “He has impacted countless student-athletes in a positive way throughout his time here. We all wish Mike the best in the future and know Barton baseball would have never climbed to the standard of excellence it achieved over a long period of time without his guidance.”
Contributing to Kansas baseball and his communities throughout his career, the Winfield native just completed his 35th year of coaching collegiate baseball after a successful Kansas high school and collegiate playing career.  
Winning the 1972 state championship at Winfield High School, Warren played and helped Emporia State University to a third-place finish at the NAIA Championships.   
Beginning his coaching career at Pratt Community College then Dodge City Community College prior to Barton, Warren’s career mark stands at 1,001-740-1 with his retirement from Barton Baseball.  
Aiding in the development of the Jayhawk Conference Baseball Coaches Association in 1994, Warren was also elected the association’s first president and initiated the first NJCAA Region VI all-star game to provide national exposure for sophomores in the Kansas junior college ranks.  
Touching the lives of over 900 student-athletes and coaches, Warren’s coaching tree reaches nearly 50 former players and 15 former assistant coaches, including two members of the Kansas Baseball Hall of Fame and one member of the American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA) Hall of Fame.