By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
K-State names programs award winners; Tickets still on sale for Pinstripe Bowl
Placeholder Image

2010 K-State Football
Team Awards

Overachiever Award (top freshman in strength and conditioning) – Tre Walker (LB)
Red Raider Award (top contribution on scout squad) – B.J. Finney (OL)
Scholar-Athlete Award – Alex Hrebec (LB)
Purple Pride Award (walk-on displaying quality play, leadership and work ethic) – Brian Hertzog (LB)
Ken Ochs Courage Award – Kevin Rohleder (LB)
Kevin Saunders (Never Give Up) Award – Clyde Aufner and Trevor Viers (OL)
Nancy Bennett Memorial Award (representing fight, spirit and positive nature) – Josh Berard (DE)
Anthony A. Bates Memorial Award (promoting team unity and unselfishness) – Carson Coffman (QB)
Joan Friederich Award (representing team concept through unselfishness and commitment) – Wade Weibert (OL)
Jim “Shorty” Kleinau Award (representing loyalty, hard work and commitment) – Aubrey Quarles (WR)
Coaches Appreciation Award – Ernie Barrett and Sean Snyder
Most Improved Defense Player – Terrance Sweeney (DB)
Most Improved Offensive Player – Collin Klein (QB)
Outstanding Offensive Lineman – Zach Kendall and Kenny Mayfield
Defensive Front Seven Defensive Player of the Year – Ray Kibble (DT)
Special Teams Player of the Year – William Powell (KR) and Corey Adams (LS)
Most Valuable Player-Defense – David Garrett and Ty Zimmerman (DB)
Most Valuable Player-Offense - Daniel Thomas (RB)

MANHATTAN – Running back Daniel Thomas and defensive backs David Garrett and Ty Zimmerman were named Kansas State’s 2010 offensive and defensive MVPs, while kick returner William Powell and long snapper Corey Adams took special teams MVP honors.
Kansas State’s football program held its annual awards ceremony Sunday night at McCain Auditorium on the K-State campus.
“I would like to express my sincere appreciation and gratitude to everyone involved with this football program, including our coaches, support staff, players and especially their families,” head coach Bill Snyder said to those in attendance. “This senior class is truly a special group full of extraordinary young men. Seventeen of them have already earned degrees from Kansas State University and their dedication to this program has formed a strong foundation for the future.”
Thomas, a two-time All-Big 12 selection at running back and a third team All-America pick, was named the Wildcats’ offensive Most Valuable Player for the second straight year. This year, the Doak Walker Award semifinalist recorded the second-most rushing yards in a season at K-State with 1,495, which is also a new record for a senior back, and heads into the bowl season ranked ninth nationally in rushing.
On defense, Garrett, a junior, earned All-Big 12 distinction after leading the team with 86 tackles and ranking fifth in the Big 12 with 13.0 tackles for loss. Zimmerman, K-State’s first-ever true freshman to earn all-conference honors from the league’s coaches, ranks second in the Big 12 among freshmen with his 69 tackles and also received votes for Big 12 Freshman of the Year honors.
Defensive back Terrance Sweeney earned K-State’s most improved player award on defense, with sophomore quarterback Collin Klein taking home the squad’s most improved offensive player honor.
MVP honors on special teams went to Adams and Powell. Adams was flawless from his long-snapper position this past season and has a streak of 475 perfect snaps heading into the Pinstripe Bowl matchup with Syracuse, while Powell earned All-Big 12 and All-America honors in 2010 after leading the nation in kick returns with his 34.6-yard average.
On the academic side, the Wildcat football program ran its current streak of maintaining the Big 12’s No. 1 graduation rate to four years in 2010, while linebacker and two-time Academic All-Big 12 selection Alex Hrebec received the program’s Scholar-Athlete award.
The Wildcats (7-5) still have one game remaining in 2010 as they will face Syracuse (7-5) on December 30 in the New Era Pinstripe Bowl at Yankee Stadium. The game, which kicks at 2:30 p.m. CT, will be televised nationally on ESPN.
Tickets remain for the game in the official K-State block and are in great locations. Those tickets begin at just $100. Fans can purchase tickets through the K-State Athletics Department at the official online bowl headquarters - Fans may also purchase tickets via phone (1-800-221-CATS) or in person at the Athletics Ticket Office in Bramlage Coliseum through 5:30 p.m., Monday.
The K-State Alumni Association will also provide official travel packages to the bowl game. Visit the Alumni Association’s official bowl travel page—  — for travel package information.