By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Cougars to host Neosho County in first round of NJCAA Region VI Tournament
Lady Cougars travel to Labette
spt mm Key floater
Barton guard Algie Key puts up a floater in the lane during the Cougars regular-season and Kansas Jayhawk Community College Conference Western Division finale against Cloud County, an 91-89 overtime loss that makes Barton the No. 4 seed in the upcoming NJCAA Region VI Tournament. Key, one of the top freshmen in the conference, endured through pain from a bruised shoulder to score a team-high 22 points. - photo by Mack McClure Great Bend Tribune

Coming off a heartbreaking 91-89 overtime loss to Cloud County on Saturday night at Kirkman Activity Center, the Cougars have landed as the No. 4 seed in the upcoming NJCAA Region VI basketball tournament.

Seedings were released on Sunday by the NJCAA.

The Cougars (24-6, 10-6) finished in fourth place in the Kansas Jayhawk Community College Conference Western Division standings. West champion Seward (12-4), along with Hutchinson (11-5) and Cloud County (11-5), who tied for second in the conference, also have first-round playoff games at home on Wednesday night.         

Barton entertains Jayhawk East opponent Neosho County (17-13) at 7. It will be the first meeting between the two teams this season.

The winner advances to the Wichita and Koch Arena for the quarterfinals, where it would most likely face the top seed in East champion and nationally-ranked No. 7 Coffeyville.

On the women's side, Barton (18-12), which beat Cloud County on Saturday night, is the No. 5 seed out of the West and will travel to Parsons on Wednesday night to take on fourth-seeded and East foe Labette at 7.

The winner of that game advances to the quarterfinals in Wichita, where a possible matchup with No. 2-ranked Hutchinson looms.


NJCAA Region VI tournament
first round schedule
Wednesday’s games

Barton (18-12) at (11-19) Labette, 6
Colby (8-22) at (24-5) Independence, 6 p.m.
Allen (11-19) at (22-7) Seward County, 6
Butler (17-13) at (15-15) Coffeyville, 6
Kansas City (13-17) at (19-11) Garden City, 6
Pratt (15-15) at (21-9) Cowley, 6
Neosho County (5-25) at (20-9) Cloud County, 6

Neosho County (17-13) at (24-6) Barton, 7
Pratt (13-17) at (27-3) Coffeyville, 8
Colby (19-11) at (21-9) Cowley, 8
Garden City (18-12) at (17-13) Independence, 8
Labette (20-10) at (23-7) Cloud County, 8
Dodge City (19-11) at (19-11) Kansas City, 7
Fort Scott (2-28) at (24-6) Seward County, 8