By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Ford, Washington named to all West teams

A pair of Barton men’s basketball players earned recognition on the All Jayhawk West team release Friday.

Sophomores Elijah Ford and Leondre Washington were among the 21 players honored. Ford was a first team selection and Washington a second team pick.

Elijah Ford mug.jpg
Elijah Ford

Hutchinson sophomore James Rojas was named the Player of the Year in the West while Seward’s Isiah Small was the Defensive Player of the Year.

Seward Coach Jason Sauter, in his second year at the helm of the Saints, was selected the Coach of the Year, guiding his team to the West title by three games.

Seward’s Marco Morency and Colby’s Eddie David were co Freshmen of the Year.

Ford was named to the first team after scoring 17 points per contests and leading the Cougars with 8.3 rebounds per game. The Newark, NJ native shot 59.7 percent from the floor.

Washington transferred to Barton from Robert Morris University and started at point guard in all 31 games he played this year.

Leondre Washington mug.jpg
Leondre Washington
Washington led Barton in scoring at 17.4 points per outing and handed out a team-high 3.9 assists as well. He was an 81.7 percent free throws shooter and made 60 3-pointers.

Seward won the Region VI tournament completed Wednesday night at Hartman Arena in Park City. The Saints defeated Hutchinson in the championships game, 81-76.

That gives Seward and automatic bid to the NJCAA National Tournament. Coffeyville, which lost in the semis to Hutch, is 29-3 and ranked No. 3 in the nation. The Red Ravens should get an invitation to the event as well.

All Jayhawk West

Player of the Year – James Rojas, Hutchinson

Def Player of the Year – Isiah Small, Seward

Freshman of the Year – Eddie David, Colby

Freshman of the Year – Marco Morency, Seward

Coach of the Year – Jason Sauter, Seward

1st team

Elijah Ford 6-5 So Barton

Craig Beaudion 6-3 So Colby

James Rojas 6-7 So Hutchinson

Miles Gibson 6-6 So NW Tech

Isiah Small 6-8 So Seward

2nd team

Leondre Washington 5-10 So Barton

Jamir Thomas 6-8 So Garden

Rheaquane Taylor 6-7 So Hutchinson

Montrevion Flowers 6-2 So Seward

Reggie Miller 6-0 So Seward

Honorable Mention

COLBY – Moses Bol, So; Eddie Davis, FR. DODGE – Jyrus Freels, So.; Kevin Howard, So. GARDEN – Russhard Cruickshank, So. HUTCH – DJ Mitchell, Fr; Fred Odhiambo, Fr.; NW TECH – Chris Freeman, So. PRATT – Teddy Fifer, So; Blake Furcron, So; Tyvon Taylor, So.