By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Hutchinson Monarchs win NBC championship
NBC logo.png

WICHITA – The Hutchinson Monarchs, which split six games against the Great Bend Bat Cats, captured the 2023 NBC World Series with a 6-3 victory over 10-time champion Santa Barbara.

The Bat Cats nearly snapped Santa Barbara’s 4-year NBC winning streak in a 5-4 setback.

Monarch starter Cole Toureau, sporting a 9.00 spring ERA, and closer Reed Scott, both threw for Hutchinson Community College. Toureau completed a 7-inning stint by retiring two batters to preserve a 4-1 lead.

Santa Barbara (34-11) had a 20-game NBC winning streak snapped after previously winning three consecutive titles.

The Monarchs (26-17) started the season 5-12. They built momentum with w late-season run that continued with a 6-4 comeback win over the Hays Larks.

Santa Barbara features 23 Division 1 players while the Monarchs have nine Division 1 players.

Will Edmunson’s fifth-inning double scored Caleb Cotton and Jarrett Flaggert.

Cooper Harris doubled Jaden Gustafson and scored on Flaggert’s sixth-inning double.

Max Buettenback scored on Gustafson’s 2-run homer for a 6-1 lead.

Monarchs relief pitcher Derick Johnson stranded two runners after the Foresters scored two runs in the eighth inning.



Hutchinson Monarchs 6, Santa Barbara 3


Hutchinson Monarchs 17, Dallas Kraken 0

Santa Barbara 5, Seattle Studs 0


Dallas Kraken 6, Kansas Cannons 3

Hutchinson Monarchs 11, Lonestar, Texas 1

Santa Barbara 3, Denver Cougars 0

Seattle Studs 6, Bat Cats 1


Lonestar, Texas 19, Arlington Baptist 3

Denver Cougars 6, Liberal 5

Dallas Kraken, Texas 9, Hays Larks 2

Bat Cats 17, Seattle Blackfins 6