By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Roemer, Tonzi earn 1st team All-Region honors
spt bcc Camilli 002

A pair of Barton men’s soccer players were selected to the All Region VI first team released this past week.
Three more Cougars were picked to the second team.
Six Cougars were picked to the first team All Jayhawk West first team. Five more were second team picks, giving Barton 11 members on the West first or second team.
Leading the way for Barton on the first team All Region were freshman Colin Roemer and sophomore Boris Tonzi.
Roemer was a first team pick at forward and Tonzi as a defender. Second team selections for All Region went to a trio of freshmen in Hiroo Kimura, Chris Camilli, and Ezra Armstrong.
Those five, along with yet another freshman in Victor Gonzalez, were the first team All West picks for Barton.
Roemer paced the scoring attack with 12 goals in his first year with the Cougars, The Germany native added six assists - second on the team - for a team-leading 30 points.
“Colin got off to a great start for us,” Coach Mike Brown said of his four goals in the season opener and eight in the first three games. “Then teams started to figure him out a little bit so we adjusted his role and I believe he we even more effective for us after that.”
Tonzi, a sophomore from France, anchored a Barton defense that had seven shutouts on the season.
“He was our rock,” Coach Brown said. “He anchored our defense. He was a sophomore coming back so that is what we expected from him. Day in and day out, he changed the game for us.”
Kimura, a freshman from Japan, had two goals and three assists for the Cougars. Camilli, a freshman from Venezuela, finished with three goals while Armstrong, a freshman from Overland Park, finished with four goals and four assists as a defender for Barton.
Gonzalez, a defender from Spain, finished with three goals as well.
Earning second team All Jayhawk West honors were three more freshmen and a pair of sophomores.
Sora Wakabayashi, a freshman from Japan, and Jose Escobedo, from Salina, were second team picks at forward while Carlos Castrejon, a freshman from Georgia, and Filippo Reggio, a freshman from Italy, were selected at midfield. Benjamin Zamora, a sophomore from Chile, was a second team pick at defender.
Wakabayashi was second on the team in points with six goals and six assists. Escobedo, a sophomore, was fourth on the team with five assists.
Castrejon had two goals and two assists while Reggio had two goals. Zamora led the team with eight assists as a defender.
Of the 11 players recognized for post season honors, eight were freshmen while just three were sophomores.
“With eight of those kids coming back, we have a very bright future,” Coach Brown said. “Our three sophomore have been key to building the program back up the right way. We will miss them. They have been solid for us that last two years.
“They helped lay the foundation here for doing things right on the field as well as off the field. We were second in the NJCAA in GPA last year as well as successful on the field. We haven’t taken that next step yet but we fully expect that to come. Everyone wants instant gratification but it takes a while to do things the rigth way.”

All Region VI
1st team
Jake Hawker, Soph, F, Cowley
Luiz Garcia, Soph, MF, Cloud
Colin Roemer, Frosh, F, Barton
Rafael Santos, Soph, F, Cloud
Ivo Pelegrine, Frosh, MF, Cowley
Guilherme Grave, Soph, F, KCK
Ricardo Angelo, Soph, MF, KCK
Leonardo Da Silva, Soph, D, KCK
Boris Tonzi, Soph, D, Barton
Alan Brandao, Soph, D, Cloud
Kiernan Harrison, Frosh, GK, NW Tech

2nd team
Hiroo Kimura, Frosh, MF, Barton
Robert Kelly, Soph, MF, Cloud
Joe Greener, Frosh, F, NWTech
Marcos Lucero, Soph, F, Neosho
Chris Camilli, Frosh, MF, Barton
Irvin Rodriguez, Soph, F, Dodge
Miguel Lucero, Soph, MF, Neosho
Preston Mboob, Soph, D, Johnson
Franco Buhovac, Soph, D, KCK
Ezra Armstrong, Frosh, D, Barton
Moussa Sy, Frosh, GK, Neosho
Felipe Domingos, Fr, GK, Coffeyville

All Jayhawk West
Offensive Player of the Year – James Ross, Cloud
Defensive Player of the Year – Luiz Garcia, Cloud
Coach of the Year – Alan Brandao, Cloud

1st team
Rafael Santos, Soph, Cloud
Colin Roemer, Frosh, Barton
Franceso D’Auerilo, Frosh, Pratt
Irvin Rodriguez, Soph, Dodge
Joe Greener, Fr, NW Tech

Luiz Garcia, Soph, Cloud
Robert Kelly, Soph, Cloud
Chris Camilli, Frosh, Barton
Joseph Vazquez Hernandez, Soph, Dodge
Hiroo Kimura, Frosh, Barton
Hakeem Smith, Soph, Cloud

Alan Brandao, Soph, Cloud
Victor Gonzalez, Frosh, Barton
Boris Tonzi, Soph, Barton
Aaron Grant, Soph, Pratt
Ezra Armstrong, Frosh, Barton

Kieran Harrison, Frosh, NW Tech

2nd team
Sora Wakabayashi, Frosh, Barton
Abel Chevelon, Soph, Dodge
Jose Escobedo, Soph, Barton
Remi Emeriau, Frosh, Garden
Joel Sanchez, Soph, Garden

Carlos Castrejon, Frosh, Barton
Jordan Maska, Soph, NW Tech
Filippo Reggio, Frosh, Barton
Victor Leitao, Frosh, Cloud
Aedan Gaffney, Frosh, Dodge
Peter Ivusic, Soph, Garden

Benjamin Zamora, Soph, Barton
Will Pointon, Frosh, NW Tech
Wanes Hobat, Frosh, Cloud
Baptisk Bissessur, Frosh, Cloud
Kieran Guthrie, Frosh, Dodge

Charles Albuquerque, Frosh, Cloud