By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Stapleton tabbed 1st team All-Jayhawk; Regan 2nd team
spt Taylor Regan 002

A pair of freshmen were recognized for their play for the Barton women’s basketball this past season.
Jaylin Stapleton and Taylor Regan were honored by the conference when the All-Jayhawk Conference team was announced this week.
Stapleton, a freshman from Meade, was a first team pick. Regan, a freshman from Albert, was a second team selection.
Seward County, Hutchinson, Cowley, and Independence all had two players selected to the first team, leaving just two more spots.
Stapleton earned one of those spots after leading Barton in scoring at 14.1 points per game. She also led the Cougars in assists at 4.9 per game and steals at 1.4. Her 36 made 3’s were second on the team. She shot 81 percent at the free throw line, where she made more than four per game.
Regan also had a big first year for the Cougars, averaging a double-double. Regan was third on the team in scoring at 10.6 per contest and led Barton in rebounding with 10.1 boards per outing. She averaged 2.1 assists as well and shot nearly 50 percent from the field.
Mollie Mounsey of Seward was the leading vote-getter on the team. She was joined by teammate Siliva Veloso. Cowley’s Kaitlyn Potter and Brenda Silva were both first team picks.
Hutch also had two named in Jada Mickens and Dejanae Roebuck while Indy’s Alek Akuen and Erica Moore were selected. The other first team pick was Coffeyville’s Lucy Burke.

All Jayhawk Conference

First Team

Mollie Mounsey                         Seward

Kaitlyn Potter                             Cowley

Jada Mickens                            Hutch

Ericka Mattingley                       Butler

Alek Akuen                                Indy

Erica Moore                               Indy

Lucy Burke                                Coffeyville

Silvia Veloso                             Seward

Jaylin Stapleton                         Barton

Brenda Silva                             Cowley

Dejanae Roebuck                      Hutch

Second Team

Kelsi Mueller                              Cloud

Jada Washington                       Garden

Scout Frame                              Cloud

Sky Jasper                                Coffeyville

Shakendra Tilley                        Garden

Abigail Green                             Garden

Taylor Regan                             Barton

Kyla Callins                               Butler

Kamri Summers                         Allen

Honorable Mention

DeQuandra Lyles                       Neosho

Alexis Casher                            Neosho

Channa Parvin                           Pratt