One seriously injured in Great Bend explosion
One person received what were described as critical injuries in an explosion reported at 3:08 a.m. Wednesday at 705 10th St. in Great Bend.
Full Story
By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Wilkins, Montague, Cannon picked 1st team All Jayhawk Conference
spt Squeaky Wilkins 003

During a busy week in preparation for the NJCAA National Tournament, a trio of Barton men’s basketball players have been named to the All-Jayhawk Conference first team.
Kawanise ‘Squeaky’ Wilkins, Keshon Montague, and Marvin Cannon were among the 10 players selected to the first team.
Barton was the only school to have three named to the first team. No other Cougar was selected to the second team or honorable mention.
Wilkins was third highest vote-getter behind Hutchinson’s JJ Rhymes and Devonte Bandoo. Montague and Cannon filled the final two spots.
Wilkins, a freshman from Chicago, was second on the Cougars in scoring, averaging 15.1 point per contest. The 6-5 forward led the Cougars at 9.4 rebounds an outing. Wilkins shot 49 percent from the floor and 74 percent from the free throw line. He also averaged 2.3 assists per game.
Montague scored 13.1 per game for Barton while running the offense as the point guard. Montague, a sophomore, led Barton at 5.1 assists per outing. The transfer from Pacific led the Cougars with 62 made 3-pointers on the season.
Cannon led the Cougars in scoring with a 15.3 average. The freshman was third in rebounding at 6.5 per game and led Barton with 57 blocked shots. He shot 51 percent from the field and 79 percent from the free throw line.
Joining the three Cougars and two Blue Dragons on the first team were a pair of Coffeyville players. Coffeyville won both the regular season and Region VI titles. Travis Washington and Marvin Johnson were first team picks for the Red Ravens.
Darnell Cowart of Cowley, DeAnthony McCallum of Independence and Jamir Thomas of Garden City rounded out the first team.

All Jayhawk Conference

First Team

JJ Rhymes                                Hutch

Devonte Bandoo                        Hutch

Kawanise Wilkins                       Barton

Travis Washington                     Coffeyville

Darnell Cowart                          Cowley

Marvin Johnson                         Coffeyville

DeAnthony McCallum                Independence

Jamir Thomas                           Garden

Keshon Montague                      Barton

Marvin Cannon                          Barton

Second Team

David Hall                                 Colby

Russ Smith                               Butler

Jeremiah Starks                        Cowley

Tyler Williams                            Allen

KeSean Davis                           Seward

Austin Downing                         Neosho

Lual Dung                                 Neosho

Casey Benton                            Coffeyville

Ketarrious Bouchum                   Butler

McSpadden                               Butler

Honorable Mention

Keon Queen                              Coffeyville

Craig Beaudion                          Colby

Pierre Johnson                          Garden

Sal Nuhu                                   Hutch

Kendale Hampton                      Garden

Jaylon Wilson                            Pratt

Isiah Small                                Seward