By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Great Bend to host 5A, 2A cross country
great bend cc

Saturday, Oct. 26

NOTES—Lake Barton Cross Country Course is 5 miles north of Great Bend on US 281 to NW 60 Road just before the 4-H building and ¼ mile west. NOTE—Spectators may park in the first field inside the course and at the bike trail lot east of the course. No vehicles will be permitted to enter after 9:45 a.m. After 9:45, parking is available at the bike trail. Anyone needing to leave before the last race will need to park outside the course and walk in. A Polaris will transport people from the bike trail to course until 9:45 a.m.

5A (3 teams qualify)

GREAT BEND (Lake Barton GC)—BOYS 10 a.m.; GIRLS 10:40—Great Bend, Hays High, Maize High, Maize South, McPherson, Newton, Salina Central, Salina South, Valley Center HS


5A GIRLS—No. 4 Maize South, No. 6 Great Bend, No. 7 Maize High

5A BOYS—No. 2 Maize South, No. 6 Great Bend


AVCTL Division 2—1—Maize South boys; 1—Maize South girls

Western Athletic—1—Great Bend girls; 2—Great Bend boys

AVCTL Division 1—2—Maize boys; 2—Maize girls

OVERLAND PARK—KC Schlagle, KC Sumner, KC Turner, KC Washington, Lenexa St. James, Blue Valley Southwest, St. Thomas Aquinas, Pittsburg, Spring Hill

TOPEKA—Basehor Linwood, Bonner Springs, De Soto, Lansing, Leavenworth, Shawnee Heights, Topeka West, Highland Park, Topeka Seaman

WICHITA—Andover Central, Andover High, Arkansas City, Emporia, Goddard, Goddard Eisenhower, Wichita Carroll, Wichita Kapaun Mt. Carmel, Wichita Northwest

2A (3 teams qualify)

GREAT BEND (Lake Barton GC)—GIRLS  11:20 a.m. BOYS 12—Elkhart, Ellinwood, Ellis, Hill City, Hoxie, Stanton County, Wichita County, Oakley, Plainville, Skyline, Smith Center, Spearville, Sublette, Syracuse, WaKeeney Trego


2A GIRLS—No. 2 Stanton County, No. 5  Ellinwood (Eagles have won 10 straight regionals)

2A BOYS—No. 1 Stanton County


Hi Plains League—1—Stanton County girls, 1—Stanton Conty boys

Central Prairie League—2—Ellinwood girls

ALMA—Allen Northern Heights, Belleville Republic County, Bennington, Blue Rapids Valley Heights, Cottonwood Falls Chase County, Eskridge Mission Valley, Herington, Horton, Jackson Heights, McLouth, Oskaloosa, Rossville, Wabaunsee, Wathena Riverside, Winchester Jefferson County North HS

HUTCHINSON—Belle Plaine, Brookville Ell Saline, Canton Galva, Ellsworth, Hillsboro, Hutchinson Trinity Catholic, Inman, Leon Bluestem, Marion, Moundridge, Salina Sacred Heart, Sedgwick, Sterling, Whitewater Remington, Wichita The Independent HS

RICHMOND—Arma Northeast, Cherokee SE, Erie, West Elk, Lawrence Seabury, Lyndon, Mound City Jayhawk Linn, Olathe Heritage, Pittsburg Colgan, Pleasanton, KC Christian, Central Heights, Shawnee Maranatha, Uniontown, Yates Center

1A (4 teams qualify)

TRIBUNE—GIRLS 12; BOYS  12:45 p.m.—Ashland, Atwood, Brewster, Bucklin, Deerfield, Dighton, Fowler, Grainfield Wheatland, Kiowa County, Ingalls, Hodgeman County, La Crosse, Logan, Meade, Minneola, South Gray, Natoma, Ness City, Oberlin, Otis Bison, Palco, Quinter, Satanta, Wallace County, St. Francis, Stockton, Greeley County, Victoria

WASHINGTON—Northern Valley, Axtell, Beloit St. John’s, Centralia, Clyde Clifton Clyde, Downs Lakeside, Frankfort, Glasco, Hanover, Highland Doniphan West, St. Xavier, Lincoln, Linn, Mankato Rock Hills, Miltonvale, Onaga, Osborne, Scandia Pike Valley, Solomon, Sylvan Lucas, Tescott, Tipton Catholic, Troy, Valley Falls, Wakefield, Washington County, Wetmore, Wilson

WICHITA (Cessna Activities Center)—GIRLS  11:15 a.m BOYS  11:50 a.m.—Burden Central, Burlingame, Burrton, Caldwell, Central Plains, South Central, Colony Crest, Cunningham, Dexter, Elbing Berean, Goessel, Hartford, Hutchinson Central Christian, Fairfield, Lebo, Little River, Macksville, Marmaton Valley, Olpe, Oswego, Oxford, Pretty Prairie, St. John, St. Paul, Stafford, Udall, Waverly, Wichita Central Christian, Wichita Classical

3A (3 teams qualify)

GARNETT—Baxter Springs, Burlington, Columbus, Fredonia, Frontenac, Galena, Anderson County, Humboldt, KC Ward, Prairie View, Neodesha, Osage City, Osawatomie, Pomona West Franklin, Riverton, Wellsville HS

NORTON—Beloit, Colby, Concordia, Goodland, SE Saline, Hays Thomas More Prep, Hoisington, Holcomb, Lakin, Smoky Valley, Minneapolis, Norton, Phillipsburg, Russell, Scott City

LEONARDVILLE—Atchison Maur Hill, Council Grove, Easton Pleasant Ridge, Atchison Co. Hiawatha, Royal Valley, Marysville, Jefferson West, Perry Lecompton, Riley County, Sabetha, Sante Fe Trail, Nemaha Central, Silver Lake, St. George Rock Creek, St. Marys

WICHITA (Lake Afton GC)—GIRLS  11:45 a.m. BOYS  10:30 a.m.Anthony/Harper Chaparral, Caney Valley, Cheney, Cimarron, Douglass, Eureka, Halstead, Haven, Hesston, Hugoton, Kingman, Kismet Southwestern Heights, Larned, Lyons, Wichita Collegiate, Wichita Trinity Academy

4A (3 teams qualify)

BALDWIN—Atchison, Baldwin, Eudora, Holton, KC Piper, Louisburg, Ottawa, SM Miege, Tonganoxie

CHANUTE—Labette County, Chanute, Coffeyville, Fort Scott, Girard, Independence, Iola, Paola, Parsons

EL DORADO—Augusta, El Dorado, Mulvane, Rose Hill, Topeka Hayden, Circle, Wamego, Wellington, Winfield

HUTCHINSON—Abilene, Andale, Buhler, Chapman, Clay Center, Clearwater, Nickerson, Pratt, Ulysses

6A (3 teams qualify)

JUNCTION CITY—Hutchinson, Junction City, Lawrence, Lawrence Free State, Manhattan, Topeka High, Washburn Rural, Wichita Heights, Wichita North

OVERLAND PARK—Gardner Edgerton, Olathe East, Olathe North, Olathe South, Olathe West, Blue Valley, Blue Valley North, Blue Valley Northwest, Blue Valley West

OVERLAND PARK—KC Harmon, KC Wyandotte, Olathe Northwest, SM East, SM North, SM Northwest, SM South, SM West, Mill Valley

WICHITA—Derby, Dodge City, Garden City, Campus, Liberal, Wichita East, Wichita South, Wichita Southeast, Wichita West