By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Oiler doubles teams win titles
Oiler tennis 2019.JPG

Oilers win quad tennis meet

CLAFLIN — Central Plains Oilers No. 1 doubles Brett Liebl-Devin Ryan and No. 2 doubles Paxton Hammeke-Lawson Oeser placed first to help the Oilers win the Central Plains tennis quad tournament. The Oilers (22) edged Ellsworth (21) by one point. 

Liebl-Ryan defeated Ellsworth’s Caden Whetzel-Dalton Zelenka, 8-0 for first place.

Hammeke-Oeser defeated Ellsworth’s Adam Vehring-David Wessler, 8-1 for first place.

Ellsworth’s No. 1 singles Joey Oberle beat Hutchinson Trinity’s Tristan Harcrow 8-3 for first place. Hutchinson Trinity’s No. 2 singles Mike Maldonado defeated Central Plains Oiler Karter Beck 8-3 for first place.



1—Central Plains 22

2—Ellsworth 21

3—Hutchinson Trinity 15

4—Salina St. John’s 0 

NO. 1 SINGLES—1—Joey Oberle, E def. Tristan Harcrow, HT, 8-3; 3—J.J. Heredia, CP def. Cam Wolfe, SSJ, 8-5; Oberle def. Heredia, 8-0; Harcrow def. Heredia, 8-1 

NO. 2 SINGLES—1—Mike Maldonado, HT def. Karter Beck, CP, 8-3; 3—Cody Bourbon, E def. Francisco Fernandez, SSJ, 8-0

NO. 1 DOUBLES—1—Brett Liebl-Devin Ryan, CP def. Caden Whetzel-Dalton Zelenka, E, 8-0; 3—Jack Yates-Ryan Zipperich, HT def. Kevin Kerman-Adrian Cabildo, SSJ, 8-2; Liebl-Ryan def. Yates-Zipperich, 8-0; Liebl-Ryan def. Kerman-Cabildo, 8-0 

NO. 2 DOUBLES—1—Paxton Hammeke-Lawson Oeser, CP def. Adam Vehring-David Wessler, E, 8-1; 3—Connor Harcrow-Braden Miller, HT def. Adre Ayala-Jason Udofia, SSJ, 8-0; Hammeke-Oeser def. Harcrow-Miller, 8-1; Hammeke-Oeser def. Ayala-Udofia, 8-0