By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Great Bend Chiefs clinch top baseball seed
Austin Gladow gets caught in a run down between first and second but beats the throw and is safe at second base.


HAYS – The Great Bend Legion Chiefs clinched the top seed in the Hays Wild West Baseball Tournament after Friday’s lengthy rain delay. The Chiefs played 10 hours after their scheduled opener when as much as five inches of rain fell in Hays. The Chiefs lost 8-3 in extra innings to Northern Colorado 18 in Saturday's quarterfinals. The Chiefs could play two more games Saturday.

The Chiefs rolled past Norton 14-0 to clinch the top seed with a 14-run differential. Starter Colin Hall and Joey Soupiset combined for a four-inning shutout.

 Eduardo Bujanda drove home four runs. Townshend Kurth scored three runs, drove home three runs and delivered three hits. Alex Schremmer drove in three runs.

Kurth’s single drove home Calan Haberman in the first inning.

The Chiefs scored a season high 12 runs in the third inning. Eduardo Bujanda and Schremmer delivered two-run doubles. Kurth singled home Cal Kaiser and Soupiset. Eduardo Bujanda, Riley Smith and Schremmer also delivered RBIs in the 12-run inning. Hall, Haberman and Brice Kaiser scored on errors.

Eduardo Bujanda singled home Kurth for the Chiefs’ 14th run.

GB Chiefs 10 (12) 1 – 14

Norton 000 0 – 0 5 8

Hall, Soupiset (3) and Eduardo Bujanda. Ross, Devin (4) and Jon. W—Hall. L—Ross. 2B—GB—E. Bujanda 2, Schremmer.



1--Great Bend Chiefs 14, Norton 0

2--Buhler 8, Northern Colorado (17) 0

3--Hays-TMP 8, Northern Colorado (18) 2

4--McCook, Neb. 5, Liberal 2

5--Russell 4, Hays Junior Eagles 3

6--Hays Senior Eagles 13, Hoisington 5


No. Colorado (18) 3, Liberal 2

Russell 12, Norton 4

Hays Senior Eagles 8 Hoisington 5

No. Colorado (17) 3, Hays Junior Eagles 1


No. Colorado (18) 8, Great Bend Chiefs 3 

McCook, Neb. 5, Russell 4

Hays Senior Eagles 4, Hays-TMP 3

No. Colorado (17) 4, Buhler 3 


Great Bend Chiefs vs. Hays Junior Eagles

Hoisington vs. Russell

Buhler vs. Liberal

TMP vs. Norton