By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Great Bend's Murray, Hoisington's Urban make Shrine Bowl
Players named to West squad
QB Jacob Murray6
Great Bend High School quarterback Jacob Murray carries the ball in a game during the 2016 season.


Great Bend’s All-State quarterback Jacob Murray and Hoisington’s All-State linebacker Landen Urban have been selected to compete in the 2017 Kansas Shrine Bowl football game. Murray and Urban led their respective teams to the semifinals in Class 5A and Class 3A, respectively.
Murray threw for 2,281 yards and 23 touchdowns and rushed for 1,322 yards and 26 touchdowns. The Panthers were Western Athletic Conference runner-up. The Panthers beat Topeka West 70-31, Andover 16-7 and Valley Center 28-24 before losing to Goddard 50-21.
Murray credited his offensive line comprised of tackles Aaron Clark and Noah Presson, center Kaden Schroeder, guards Payton Doll and Trevor Fehr and tight end Brayden Smith for his success.
“Jacob Murray is a special player,” said Great Bend coach Erin Beck. “We always felt good when Jacob had the football in his hands.”
Hoisington beat Lakin 56-13, Norton 20-0 and Garden Plain 49-6 before losing 35-19 to Class 3A runner-up Hesston. Urban led Hoisington to back-to-back Central Kansas League division titles. He accounted for 101 tackles and assists, five fumble recoveries and four forced fumbles. Urban switched from defensive end to linebacker and played both positions effectively.
“Landen made me a better coach,” said Hoisington coach Zach Baird. “His all-state accolades speaks for the type of football player he is. He’s got a great work ethic. He’s had a decorated career.”
The 44th annual Kansas Shrine Bowl is scheduled July 29, 2017 at BG Products and Veterans Sports Complex at Butler County Community College.
Goddard Eisenhower’s Marc Marinelli is the West head coach. Rossville’s Derrick Hammes from two-time Class 3A state champion Rossville is the East head coach.
More than 200 Kansas high schools monimated more than 450 players. The Kansas Shrine Bowl is a huge honor allowing the states finest athletes to come together and compete while making a difference for Kansas children needing expert medical care.
All Shrine Bowl events are produced and presented to benefit Shriners Hospitals for Children. SHC is a health care system of 22 hospitals dedicated to improving the lives of children by providing pediatric specialty care, innovative research, and outstanding teaching programs for medical professionals.
Children up to the age of 18 are eligible for care and receive all services in a family-centered environment, regardless of the patients’ ability to pay.

OT-DT—Ben Adler, Wichita Trinity Academy
RB-WR—Jovon Baldwin, Junction City
TE—Shane Berens, Hays High
DL—Tyrekus Birch, Wichita South
WR-P—Kaden Davis, Ellsworth
OL—Cooper Dreifort, Andover High
QB-DB—Zach Esau, Hesston
QB-SE-DB—Dylan Foos, Dighton
QB—Hayden Friend, Plainville
OL-DL—Joey Gilbertson, Wichita Northwest
RB—Kody Gonzalez, Goddard
WR—Cullen Grabast, Osborne
OL-LB—Jacob Green, Norton
RB—Layke Heimerman, Halstead
DB—Zach Helbing, Mulvane
RB—Peyton Hill, Garden City
RB-DL—Jacob Jenkins, Chaparral
RB-DB—Hunter Kaufman, Pratt
LB—Dallin Marlnee, Augusta
QB—Jacob Murray, Great Bend
WR—Ben Murray, Southeast of Saline
DB—Tanner Orand, Goddard Eisenhower
QB—Nate Pauly, Garden Plain
OL—Eldon Picou, Manhattan
QB—Ethan Richardson, Maize South
OL—Josh Rivas, Hutchinson
LB—Cooper Root, Wichita Collegiate
OL-DL—Marshall Rutschman, Sedgwick
OL-DL—Thomas Sanchez, Dodge City
LB—Jay Shank, Valley Center
OL-LB—Landen Urban, Hoisington
DL—Peerlus Walker, Derby
DB—Ethan White, Buhler
RB-LB—Dillon Williams, Holcomb
HEAD COACH—Marc Marinelli, Goddard Eisenhower
COACHES—Brian Hill, Garden City; Scott Vang, Goddard; Brent Pfeifer, Maize South; Clint Rider, Hesston; Grant Stephenson, Plainville

OL—Drew Bones, Ottawa
RB—Hunter Browning, Washburn Rural
QB—Dalton Cowan, Topeka Seaman
RB—Bryce Crouch, Emporia
OL-LB—Jay Dineen, Lawrence Free State
RB-DB—Clayton Fowler, Hartford
OL-DL—Colin Grunhard, SM Miege
LB—Dawson Hammes, Rossville
G-DT—Jake Hastings, Santa Fe Trail
LB—Trenton Henry, Nemaha Central
TE-DE—Wyatt Hubert, Shawnee Heights
WR-DB—Cuttar Huss, Troy
RB-CB—J.J. Letcher, KC Piper
OL-DL—Jordin Linn, Neodesha
LB—Michael Maffry, Blue Valley
WR-FS—Jordan Martin, KC Turner
OL-DL—Greg Martin, Marysville
RB-FS—Jason Meeker, SM West
QB-CB—Brandon Miekus, Frontenac
RB—Trey Moore, Lawrence
T-DE—Justin Peine, Prairie View
TE-DE—Travis Pickert, Lenexa St. James Academy
C-DE—Danny Presler, SM North
OL-DL—Trystan Pringle, Lyndon
TE-DL—Eric Renyer, Sabetha
CB—Eric Scott, Basehor- Linwood
QB-SS—Adam Smith, Atchison
RB-CB—Chandler Struthers, St. Paul
WR-DB—Trevor Thompson, SM East
RB-LB—Garrett Tierney, BV Northwest
OL-DL—Peyton Usher-Pearson, Independence
LB—Mitchell Wertzberger, Wabaunsee
WR-CB—Kamaren Wilson, Coffeyville Field Kinley
OL—Keegan Zars, Mill Valley
HEAD COACH—Derick Hammes, Rossville
COACHES—Bob Lisher, Lawrence Free State; Tom Radke, St. James Academy; Rob Hedrick, Ottawa; Warren Seitz, Nemaha Central; Brent Hoelting, Lyndon