By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Hoisington coach earns national honor
bruce cooper award
Hoisington coach Bruce Cooper

HAYS — Longtime Hoisington High golf coach Bruce Cooper received the 2017 National Coach of the Year award Friday at the Class 3A state wrestling championship. The award is presented by the National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) Coaches Association.
The Cardinals have captutred 16 state or regional championships during his tenure at Hoisington. Cooper has coached high school golf for 38 years, most notably at Hoisington High School. Hoisington’s girls golf team placed third at the 3-2-1A state championship.
Cooper was named the 2017 Kansas Coaches Association Coach of the Year for girls golf. He was named the NFICA Girls Golf Outstanding Coach in Kansas in 1986. Cooper has coached football and basketball during his career at Hoisington.
This is the 33rd and 34th time a Kansan has been selected as Coach of the Year by the National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) Coaches Association.
The NFHS, which has been recognizing coaches through an awards program since 1982, honors coaches in the top 10 girls sports and top 10 boys sports (by participation numbers), and in one “other” sport that is not included in the top 10 listings. Winners of NFHS awards must be active coaches during the year for which they receive their award.
The KSHSAA works with the Kansas Coaches Association (KCA) to nominate Kansas coaches. The KCA contacts their potential state award recipients to complete a “coach profile” form that requests information regarding the coach’s record, membership in and affiliation with coaching and other professional organizations, involvement with other school and community activities and programs, and coaching philosophy. To be approved as an NFCA award recipient and considered for sectional and national coach of the year, this profile form must be completed by the coach or designee and then approved by the executive director (or designee) of the state athletic/activities association.
Gonzales and Cooper received this national accolade after first being awarded state and sectional awards. Other sectional and state coaches of the year from Kansas will be announced at a later date. The NFHS is divided into eight geographical sections with Kansas part of Section 5 - Midwest (KS, MN, MO, NE, ND, SD).
The NFHS Coaches Association has an advisory committee, composed of a chair and eight sectional representatives. The sectional committee representatives evaluate the state award recipients and select the best candidates for the sectional award in each sport category. The NFHS Coaches Association Advisory Committee then considers the sectional candidates in each sport, ranks them according to a point system, and determines a national winner for each of the 20 sport categories, the spirit category and one “other” category.
Manhattan High School wrestling coach Robert Gonzales has also named a National Coach of the Year. Gonzales led Manhattan to three state team championships. The Indians captured the 2017 team title, had two champions and two runnerss-up. Gonzales has been named the Kansas Wrestling Coach Association Coach of the Year six times.