By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Morrisons, Haney land first-team all-conference honors
spt mm Steph Morrison
Great Bend third baseman Stephanie Morrison (at left) had a team-leading .549 batting average during the regular season. - photo by Mack McClure Great Bend Tribune

Pitcher Jordan Haney, catcher-pitcher Abby Morrison and third baseman Stephanie Morrison of Great Bend High School were named as first-team picks on the All-Western Athletic Conference softball team.
Selections were made in a vote by the league’s coaches. It also featured seniors Kaitlee Spray, Lexie Brack and Nicole Reiter on the honorable mention list.
Hays had four first-team selections, along with player of the year Katelyn Schumacher and coach of the year Abby Maska.
Hays advanced to the Class 5A state tournament, where the Lady Indians finished fourth. They defeated Andover Central 3-1 in an opening-round game before falling to Blue Valley-Stillwell 7-0 in the semifinals and 6-1 to St. Thomas Aquinas in the third-place game.
Great Bend, which finished 17-5 overall, advanced to a 5A regional championship final at Harms Field in Great Bend. The Lady Panthers routed Wichita West 16-1 in the opening round before falling to Valley Center 13-5 in the title game.
Stephanie Morrison led the team with a .549 average from her leadoff spot entering the regional tournament. Spray was the only other GBHS batter hitting over .500 with a .516 clip.
Haney led the team entering regional play with four home runs and 29 runs batted in. She also had a .439 average.

                  ALL-CONFERENCE SOFTBALL - 2011       
                      WAC TEAM CHAMPIONS:    Hays (7-1)                   
                                  All-League Selections                   
                                         First Team
    NAME                    Year  Pos.    High School

 1    Emily Bayouth           JR    IF        Liberal
 2    Abby Morrison          SR    P/C     Great Bend
 3    Ashley Stephenson    JR    IF        Dodge City
 4    Makenzie Flaska       JR    IF        Hays
 5    Jamie St. Clair          FR   OF       Garden City
 6    Jordan Haney           SR    P/IF    Great Bend
 7    Kylie Newton           SR    OF      Dodge City
 8    Makenzie Altman     SR     U        Hays
 9    Leslie Ford              SO     P         Garden City
10    Stephanie Morrison SO    IF         Great Bend
11    Paige Lunsford       JR     IF         Hays
12    Shea Briggs           SO     IF         Hays
    Player of the Year           
    Katelyn Schumacher SO    P    Hays
    Coach of the Year           
    Abby Maska            Hays

Honorable Mention                   
       NAME                  Year      High School

 1    Casey Curran           SO       Garden City
 2    Kaitlee Spray           SR        Great Bend
 3    Brittany Waldman    SR        Dodge City
 4    Riley Hay                SO        Liberal
 5    Jennifer St Clair       JR        Garden City
 6    Taylor Oldham        SR        Dodge City
 7    Nicole Reiter          SR        Great Bend
 8    Mackenzie Albers   JR        Hays
 9    Jai Chapman           FR        Liberal
10    Vanessa Garcia     SR        Garden City
11    Syndi Hernandez    JR        Garden City
12    Jessica Shipps       SR        Dodge City
13    Lexie Brack         SR         Great Bend
14    Haley Wells         FR         Hays