LSH escapee caught in Utah
LARNED — Escaped sex offender John Freeman Colt, who walked out of the Sexual Predator Treatment Program of Larned State Hospital on June 30, has been captured in Utah.
Full Story
By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Prides of Kansas Lions To Wichita Convention
loc lgp kslionsconventionpic1
Kansas Lions Council of Governors: (L-R) Sheryl Brenn (Western), Mel Barnett (South Central), Bill Sanderson (North Central), Helen LeBlanc (Council Chair), Bill Kincaid (South East), Beverly Nichols (North East).

The annual Kansas Lions State Convention in Wichita, May 30 - June 1, 2013, will take on an international significance as the Kansas Lions host Lions Clubs International President Wayne Madden and wife Linda at the Airport Hilton Convention Center.
Wayne Madden, of Auburn, Indiana, USA, was elected president of The International Association of Lions Clubs at the Association’s 95th International Convention, held in Busan, Korea, in 2012.
In recognition of his service to the association, President Madden has received many awards, including an International President’s Leadership Medal, nine International President’s Medals, and The Ambassador of Good Will Award, the highest honor the association bestows upon its members.
He is a W.P. Woods Fellow, a Kentucky Colonel, a Duke of Paducah, a Helen Keller Fellow and a Progressive Melvin Jones Fellow. In 2008, IP Madden was recognized for his humanitarian service by the governor of Indiana as a Sagamore of the Wabash.
In addition to his Lion activities, President Madden has been active in numerous professional and community organizations. President Madden and his wife, Linda, also a Lion and Progressive Melvin Jones Fellow, have two daughters and five grandchildren.
The Kansas Lions State Convention is the crowning  event of the Kansas Lions Year, and will culminate in the final meeting of the State Council of Governors, the elected leaders of Kansas Lions Clubs. The State Council is lead by Council Chairwoman Helen LeBlanc of Valley Center.  District Governors are Sheryl Brenn of Colby (Western Kansas), Bill Sanderson of Salina (North Central), Beverly Nichols of Overland Park (North East), Mel Barnett of Hutchinson (South Central), and  Bill Kincaid of Augusta (South East).
Many of the State Committees will also meet to conclude plans and activities for the year, and to formulate goals for the next Lions Year.