By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Sons of the American Revolution chapters install members
SAR new members
Sons of the Plains Chapter SAR president Justin Engleman, right, administers the rite of installation to new members, from left: Dr. William Russell King, Dr. William T. King, Andrew Davidson, Robert Davidson and Jason Leslie.
SAR inductees
Recent inductees at the Western Kansas Regional meeting include, from left: Michael Miller, Jeffrey Naysmith, Kenneth Brackney, Robert Brackney, Justis Posson and Dillon Stum.

The Sons of the Plains Chapter of the Sons of the American Revolution has played host to two recent installation ceremonies. First the chapter hosted a Western Kansas Regional Meeting in Great Bend on Saturday, July 21. State Society President Dennis Nelson of Overland Park, Vice President Bobbie Hulse of McPherson, Western Vice President Stan Jantz of Hoisington, and Immediate Past International District Vice President General Brooks Lyles of Leavenworth were on hand to help with installation of six new members.

The rite of installation was conducted by President Nelson and the new compatriots were pinned with the society’s rosette by their sponsors, Justin Engleman, Bobbie Hulse and Bill Posson. Brooks Lyles gave the program about militia and militiamen in the American Revolution.

The Sons of the Plains Chapter in Hutchinson installed one new member, Bennington Chapter in Salina installed one new member and the Fort Hays Chapter four new installations at the regional meeting. Then at the chapter’s first meeting of the year, five new members were installed by Sons of the Plains Chapter President Justin Engleman on Saturday, Sept. 8, in Hutchinson. Engleman sponsored all of these new compatriots.

New compatriots include:

Sons of the Plains – Michael Miller, Nickerson; Dr. William Russell King, Shawnee Mission; Dr. William T. King, Great Bend; Andrew Davidson, Buhler; Robert Davidson, Hutchinson; and Jason Leslie, Pratt.

Bennington – Jeffrey Naysmith, Newton.

Fort Hays – Kenneth Brackney, Ness City; Robert Brackney, Ness City; Dillon Stum, Hays; and Justis Posson, Norton.

Membership in the SAR is open to men who can demonstrate that their ancestor provided active service in the cause of American independence either by serving in the military or in some other significant role.

Goals of the 129 year-old patriotic organization include promoting patriotism and building respect for American history and the founding fathers. The SAR also supports veterans in VA hospitals, the Boy Scouts and ROTC cadets. Awards and scholarships are also given to students who win orations and poster contests on patriotic topics.  One of the SAR’s newest programs is to select an American History teacher and send the winner to the Freedoms Foundation Teacher Workshop in Valley Forge, Pa.

The Sons of the Plains chapter meets at 9 a.m. the second Saturday of the month from September to May in the Walnut Room of the Hutchinson Community College Student Union. The next meeting will be at 9 a.m., Saturday, Oct. 13. Further information about the SAR or its activities is available by calling chapter president Justin Engleman at 620-792-2429.