By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Top Kansas Career and Technical Education Scholars recognized
gbtribune news logo anvil app

TOPEKA — Fifty-seven Kansas high school seniors have been named 2020 Kansas Career and Technical Education (CTE) Scholars, the Kansas State Department of Education announced Tuesday, April 14.

Among them was Whitney Brummer, St. John-Hudson USD 350.

The Kansas CTE Scholar program is an opportunity to recognize well-rounded outstanding CTE students who are finishing their senior year of high school. This is the third year for the initiative. 

Students must be a high school senior and meet the following criteria to be selected as a scholar: have earned or presently enrolled in 3.0 or more CTE credits; provide documentation of technical skill attainment; have a CTE Grade Point Average (GPA) of 3.5 or better in CTE coursework; demonstrated leadership; demonstrated community engagement; have professional learning experiences; provide a career vision summary statement.

Scholars will receive a commemorative pin, special certificate and statewide recognition.