By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Barton County 4-H competes at State
new lgp 4harcherypic
Colton McPherson, Robert Frizell, Alivia Bautista, AJ Moshier

Barton County 4-H members competing at the State Archery competition in Topeka were Robert Frizell, AJ Moshier, Colton McPherson and Alivia Bautista. In Olympic division, Robert Frizell placed 7th in 3D, 10th in FITA and 7th overall. In the Bowhunter competition, AJ Moshier placed 10th in FITA, 11th in 3D and 10th overall. Alivia Bautista and Colton McPherson were competitors in the junior division of Bowhunter placing 48th and 74th respectively.
In the Recurve Barebow division, Robert Frizell placed 7th overall with a 11th place in FITA and a 7th place in 3D.  Alivia Bautista placed 24th overall with a 13th place in 3D.
The State Small Bore Rifle Competition was held in October. The team members were Parker Smith, Ryan Kohman and Caleb Straub. Parker Smith of Great Bend placed 5th overall with a score of 442. She placed 2nd in the state in the kneeling position. Ryan Kohman placed 20th and Caleb Straub placed 25th.  
The 4-H Shooting Sports Program uses the skills and disciplines of shooting to assist young people and their leaders to attain knowledge and develop essential life skills.
In learning the rules of firearms safety and safe firearms handling, a young person will learn decision-making, develop an inquiring mind, and acquire and cultivate knowledge of wildlife and natural resources. They will also learn skills such as social interaction and communication skills.
Barton County has a team of shooting sports leaders who have worked throughout the year with our 4-H members and it paid off at the State Shoot. All shooting sports leaders must be certified by attending a weekend long training. Leaders certified in air rifle are Frank Ochs, Leland Miller, Jim Kohman, John Reh, Jeff Clark, Steve Schultz, Brian Rowan and Pat Streck. Certified archery leaders are Dennis Trapp, Kathy McGinnis, Roger McPherson and Bill Abrams.