By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
BCSO offers ‘carry conceal’ class
BCSO seal.jpg

The Barton County Sheriff’s Office will offer an 8-hour Handgun Safety Training Course from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the BCSO Range and Training Facility, 396 NE 30 Road, Great Bend, on June 5. This is a basic firearms safety class that individuals must first complete as part of the application process for a Carry Concealed Handgun license.

Although anyone 21 years of age or older can take the course, not everyone is eligible to obtain a CCH license.

The instructors are all Kansas law enforcement officers with various backgrounds and years of experience.

The cost of the class is $50. Payment is non-refundable and must be paid prior to the day of the class in order to be guaranteed a spot. Send a check or money order made payable to the Barton County Sheriff’s Office, 1416 Kansas Ave., Great Bend, KS 67530 or stop in at the office to pay in person.

What to bring on June 5

• Arrive a few minutes early; class begins promptly at 8 a.m.

• Have your photo ID (Kansas driver’s license)

• Bring a writing utensil

• You will need your own reliable working handgun and be able to field strip the handgun in class. (Refer to you gun’s manual or go on-line for instructions.) Bring your unloaded gun into class with you. Leave all ammunition in your vehicle.

• You will need a minimum of 50 rounds of ammunition. No reloads.

• Bring appropriate eye protection and ear protection, and wear appropriate clothing for the weather conditions. Qualification is outdoors.

• A light lunch will be provided but if you have a special diet bring your own lunch.

• Training and qualification will be held at the BTSO Range located at 396 NE 30 Road, which is east of the Barton County Landfill on Bissel’s Point Road.