By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
146 Kansas State University students receive 2016-17 Legacy Scholarships
edu lgp ksuscholarshipspic
Front with check: Amy Button Renz, president and CEO, K-State Alumni Association, (right) and Gen. Richard B. Myers, Kansas State University interim president, recognize recipients of the K-State Alumni Associations 2016-17 Legacy Scholarships during a presentation at the K-State football game in Manhattan, Kansas, on Sept. 17.

Recipients of the K-State Alumni Association’s Legacy Scholarships were recognized during a presentation at the Kansas State University football game in Manhattan on Sept. 17.
The $1,000 scholarships were awarded to 146 children and grandchildren of K-State alumni for the 2016-17 academic year. K-State students receiving the scholarship are incoming freshmen as well as current and transfer students. The recipients include both in-state and out-of-state students. Applicants are considered if at least one parent or grandparent is a K-State alumnus, with preference given to members of the Alumni Association.
“Alumni across Kansas and the nation have encouraged the university and Association to ad-dress tuition issues of legacy students, and this program greatly assists us in those efforts,” said Amy Button Renz, president and CEO of the Alumni Association. “The Association’s board of directors is committed to helping prospective students attend K-State.”
The scholarships are made possible through funds generated by the K-State License Plate pro-gram, administered by the Alumni Association for the university.
The state-issued license plates with the purple Powercat logo can be found on the back of more than 7,800 vehicles in Kansas. The program, administered locally in all 105 county treasur-er offices, began in 1997, and the tax-deductible royalties paid on K-State License Plates have raised more than $3 million for student scholarships and recognition of achievements.
Local Legacy Scholarship recipients are Catherine Helten, Ellinwood and Danica Johnson, Stafford.