By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
FHSU selects seven students, five faculty and staff as outstanding Men of Merit
Placeholder Image

Twelve men on the Fort Hays State University campus were named as 2015’s “Men of Merit.” A reception in their honor was held on Tuesday, April 28.
Notifications are sent out campus-wide for staff and faculty to nominate staff, faculty and students who meet the following criteria: breaking gender stereotypes, taking action, leading by example and outstanding contributions.
A committee headed by Amber White, coordinator of diversity affairs, reviews the nominations and conducts interviews. From there, 12 are chosen.
This year’s recipients: Luke Abbott, Great Bend senior majoring in mathematics; Brett Bruner, director or persistence and retention, Office of Student Affairs; Dr. Chris Crawford, professor of leadership studies and interim provost; Ulises Gonzalez, Dora, N.M., junior majoring in management; Baron Green, Oberlin sophomore majoring in justice studies; Dr. Darrell Hamlin, assistant professor of justice studies; Seth Kastle, instructor of leadership studies; Craig Karlin, director of student financial assistance and interim registrar; Cameron Rohleder, Hays senior majoring in physics; Brandon Taylor, Colby senior majoring in management; Manny Ultreras III, Dodge City senior majoring in justice studies; Tanner Younie, Hays senior majoring in political science.