By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Kansas 4-H to award scholarships to 64 students
4-H helps students succeed in higher education
Placeholder Image

The Kansas 4-H Foundation has selected 64 students to share more than $59,000 in scholarships, rewarding them for their dedication and leadership as Kansas 4-H members.
The scholarships fund post-secondary education during the 2015-16 academic year and will be awarded at the 2015 Emerald Circle Banquet, May 28, in Manhattan.
“Assisting our 4-H members in pursuit of higher education, where they will apply the skills and knowledge gained through 4-H, is a privilege and honor for our donors. We couldn’t be more pleased to award scholarships to these deserving young men and women,” said Jake Worchester, president of the foundation.
Scholarship recipients are 4-H members selected through an annual application and review process. Applications are judged with emphasis on 4-H leadership, citizenship and involvement. Many of the scholarship donors are former 4-H members.
2015-16 Kansas 4-H Foundation scholarships recipient’s and donors are:  
Abilene: Christina Hoffman, Dickinson, Mandy and Joseph Kern; Atla Vista: April Ascher, Riley, Frank W. and Gwen Romine Jordan; Auburn:    Luke Garrison, Shawnee, Master Farmer-Farm Homemaker 4-H; Axtell: Audrey Schmitz, Marshall, Glenn M. and Rosemary Busset; Axtell: Tricia Schmitz, Marshall, Marceil Gradwohl 4-H; Axtell: Tracy Schmitz, Marshall, Winter Family Grants; Baileyville: Tyler Deters, Meadowlark, Kansas Association of Wheatgrowers; Berryton: Kelsey Wulfkuhle, Douglas, Roscoe M. and Winona M. Starkey; Brewster: Layton Werth, Thomas Nathan Carrol Memorial; Brookville: Collyn Fouard, Central Kansas, Orscheln Farm and Home 4-H; Bucyrus: Sara Guetterman, Johnson, Roy B. and Elizabeth Curry Oyer; Burrton: Blake Foraker, Sedgwick, Frank W. and Gwen Romine Jordan; Chapman: Kyler Langvardt, Geary, Orscheln Farm and Home 4-H; Clifton: Blade Winter, River Valley, Orscheln Farm and Home 4-H; Colby: Sarah Lamm, Thomas, Pierre C. Henry; Dodge City: Rachel Robertson, Ford, June Beaver 4-H; Effingham: Bridgett Kelly, Atchison, John Junior and Ula Armstrong; Emporia: Arissa Moyer, Lyon, June Beaver 4-H; Emporia: Sarah Moyer, Lyon, William G. and Marita Jean (Spiers) Willis; Fredonia: Leah Kimzey, Wilson, June Beaver 4-H; Garden City: Linda Bilberry, Finney, A.B. Mahieu; Hartford: Brianna Zweimiller, Lyon, Extension -Step Ahead - SE; Holcomb: Ashley Mongeau, Finney, Clara L. Dubbs 4-H; Hoyt: MaRyka Smith, Meadowlark, Elmer and Mary Schlagel Pelton Family; Humboldt: Anna Setter, Southwind - Iola, Mary Lou Gibbs; Hutchinson: Thomas Fink, Reno, Jack and Lindy Lindquist 4-H Youth Council Leadership; Lawrence: Karen Schneck, Douglas, Frank W. and Gwen Romine Jordan; Lawrence: Ryal Mitchell, Douglas, Ross and Marianna Beach Foundation Endowed; Leavenworth: Leah Parsons, Leavenworth Extension Step Ahead - NE; Lenexa: Josh Gregory, Johnson, Kansas 4-H Youth Development Department; Lenexa: Julia Shields, Johnson, Warren L. and Mabel Johnson and Ann Johnson Sparke 4-H; Madison: Samuel Davis, Greenwood, John L. Wilson Memorial; Manhattan: Anna Jackson, Riley, Frank W. and Gwen Romine Jordan; Manhattan: Chase Reed, Cowley, Cecil and Merle Eyestone; McLouth: Carl Hecht, Leavenworth, Roger E. Regnier; McPherson: Michael McKinney, McPherson, Orscheln Farm and Home 4-H; Meade: Jacqueline Clawson, Meade, Donald E. Leu; Meriden: Boyd Roenne, Meadowlark, Orscheln Farm and Home 4-H; Meriden: Jennifer McNary, Meadowlark, Frank W. and Gwen Romine Jordan; Olathe: Megan McLaughlin, Johnson, June Beaver 4-H; Olathe: Niccole Miller, Marais des Cygnes, Goppert Southeast Kansas; Onaga: Mitchell Duer, Pottawatomie, Orscheln Farm and Home 4-H; Oskaloosa: Ashley Nelson, Meadowlark, Andrew J. Clawson Memorial 4-H; Phillipsburg: Justin Turner, Phillips Rooks, Douglas F. & Linda Beech Educational; Pratt: Austin Black, Pratt, Orscheln Farm and Home 4-H; Pratt:  Taylor DeWeese, Pratt J. Harold and LaVerne Johnson; Ransom: Marta Payne, Walnut Creek, Allan and Carolyn Harms Family; Rozel: Megan Milch, Pawnee, Extension - Step Ahead - SW; Rush Center: Traci Ross, Walnut Creek, J. Clifton and Helen F. Ramsey; Salina: Shaylee Arpin, Central Kansas, Donald E. Leu Salina: Justin Schmutz, Central Kansas, Gary and Lorraine Kilgore 4-H; Salina: Zoe Woolsoncroft, Central Kansas, Frances W. Dunbar Memorial 4-H; Shawnee: Michaela Mense, Johnson, A. Lois Redman 4-H; Spring Hill: Brenna Ewing, Johnson, Orscheln Farm and Home 4-H; Spring Hill: Tessa Davids, Marais des Cygnes, Goppert Southeast Kansas; Tescott: Evan Morrical, Central Kansas, Georgia Wertzberger; Topeka: Antonio Ramonda-Pruitt, Shawnee, Ross E. and Margaret Colman Wulfkuhle; Ulysses: Mercedes Rodriguez, Grant, Mary E. Border; Valley Center: Jill Seiler, Sedgwick, Thomas Potter II 4-H; Wallace: Chanity Daily, Sunflower Extension Step Ahead - NW; Wamego: Annette Trieb, Riley, John C. Carter Memorial; Washington: Gabryelle Gilliam, River Valley, Oscar W. Norby; Wichita: Jameson Jones, Sedgwick, Winter Family Grants