By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Newman University honors 2016 graduates
gbtribune news

The Newman University Spring 2016 Undergraduate and Graduate Commencement ceremonies were held on May 14 at Central Community Church. The Undergraduate ceremony was held at 10 a.m. The Graduate ceremony was held at 3 p.m. A total of 258 graduates were recognized.
The Undergraduate Commencement ceremony included an address by Newman University Associate Professor of English Susan Crane-Laracuente, Ph.D. Crane-Laracuente received the 2015 Newman University Teaching Excellence Award, an annual recognition to a full-time faculty member who has demonstrated an innovative or dynamic approach to courses, course revisions, and teaching techniques.
The ceremony also included the naming of the 2016 recipients of the Harvey J. Ablah Award and the Leona J. Ablah Award. The awards are presented each year to a graduating male and a graduating female student who exemplify the spirit of Newman University. For 2016, the Harvey J. Ablah Award went to Brandon Gollhofer of Fort Worth, Texas. The Leona J. Ablah Award was presented to Brandi Boese of Lacrosse, Kan.
Local graduates include: Ellinwood - Dustin Cook, Master of Science, Education; Great Bend: Linda Basye, Master of Science, Education, Tammi Cale, Master of Science, Education, and Amber Shattuck, Master of Science, Education.