By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Students receive scholarships at K-State event in Great Bend
Placeholder Image

Eighteen area students were awarded scholarships totaling $3,800 at the Kansas State University alumni/student event Sept. 18 in Great Bend.
The recipients are Dylan Wissman, Albert; Jennifer Hitschman, Claflin; Kyle Blakeslee, Cody Isern, Jenna Snell and Derek Ward, Ellinwood; Kelsey Couture, Jacob Durrett, Mari Erb, Taylor Fry, Mitch Johnson, Mark Lang, Hannah Middleton, Josh Murphy, Jeff Pike, Ashlie Thill and Emilie Thill, Great Bend; and Brittany Wilson, LaCrosse.
The scholarships were awarded by the Great Bend K-State Alumni Club, the K-State Alumni Association, the Col. Gayle Foster Scholarship fund and the President’s Office.
“We are so pleased to congratulate these outstanding students,” said Amy Button Renz, president and CEO of the K-State Alumni Association. “The Alumni Association board of directors is committed to helping prospective students attend K-State, and the alumni club scholarship program is a vital component in assisting those efforts. We greatly appreciate local alumni and friends who have helped make these awards possible through their loyal support.”
The scholarships are for the 2012-2013 academic year. The K-State Alumni Association annually awards more than $228,000 in student scholarships with funding provided by local K-State alumni and friends and Alumni Association programming. There are more than 1,800 K-State alumni and friends in the Great Bend area.