By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
GBHS bands rated at in-house concert
edu_GBHS band.jpg

The Great Bend High School Varsity and Junior Varsity Band members had their In-House Contest on Thursday, March 7. Bill Clausing, retired band director from St. John, was the adjudicator/clinician.

Selections were: Chorale & Shaker Dance II by John Zdechlick, and Festivo by Vaclav Nelhybel.

The Varsity Band received 79 of a possible 80 points for a 1+ rating.

The Junior Varsity played Brookpark Overture by James Swearingen and Bryce Canyon by Jerry Williams. They received 68 of 80 points for a I- rating.

The bands are directed by Mark DeWald and Don Regehr.

GBHS 2018-19 Band, kneeling: Blake Sheets, Dalton Staab, Dylan Graham, Karter Smith, Ethan Reneau, Sean Hames, Brady Burnham, Allen To, pit section leader; Malachi Wasson, Amy To, Dinah Newman, Chris Schenk, Sidney Cooper, Joshua Hoisington. First row: Donna Becker, flag instructor; Accacia Pedigo, Amelia Sommers, Molly Phillips, Gabriela Reyes, Emma Mayhill, Breanne Allen, Cassy Enriquez, Sydney Mason, Alexis Folkerts, Priscilla Ramirez, McKenna Esfeld, Jessica Nieto, section leader & quartermaster; Audrey Muth, head drum major; Sage Cauley, asst. drum major; Alan Baxter, drum line instructor. Second row: Jordyn Stukey, Chastity Bennett, Leann Pafford, Haleigh Ringo, Antony Reyes, Remy Martin, Anthony Ramirez, Charity Sandberg, Kaylee Marley, Macy Doctor, Christine Shaffer, Marcos Piedra, Remi Ingram, Emma Bieker, flag section leader. Third row: Derek Johnson, Aleah Urban, Evan Shell, Jason Scott, Andrea Orona, Robby Gutierrez, Rafael Gomez, Korbin Shepherd, Damien Boyer, Mariana Castillo, Emilia Diaz, Fernanda Rodriguez, Maria Miranda, Robby Brining. Fourth row: Lorena Favela, Even Wedel, Austin Miller, Daniel Aldrich, Anthony Paez, Caleb Murphy, Raina Garrard, Alan Herrera, Hector Barrios, Daniel Abbott, Even Guerra, Mikah Proffitt, quartermaster & low woodwind section leader; Gavin young, quartermaster; Dustin Emig. Back row: Mark DeWald, head band director; Matthew Zorn, section leader; Dylan Lamb, asst. section leader;  Alex Smith, Sienna Cauley, Dalton Dicks, Christian Mason, Matthew Phillips, section leader; Lane Milholland, Malachi Williams, section leader; Devon Lamb, Juan Sanchez, Greg Sommers, Don Regehr, asst. band director. Not pictured: Jordan Popp, bass drum section leader; Willow Jones, snare drum section leader; Elizabeth Gerdes, quint/cymbal section leader; Katherine Snapp, section leader; Lauren Doctor, Nicole Haberman, Nick Kohman, David Miller.