By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Huelskamp reveals First District Congressional Art Competition winners at Rice County Town Hall
new lgp artcompwinnerspic1
Congressman Huelskamp and overall winner Alistair Brillart

At his Rice County Town Hall in Lyons on Thursday, Congressman Tim Huelskamp (KS-01), recognized the winners of the 2015 First Congressional District Art Competition including Alastair Brillart, the overall winner for his piece “Mind of an Artist.”
Brillart’s drawing will be displayed in the U.S. Capitol for one year. He and a guest are invited to travel to Washington, DC in late June for a reception for all overall winners from across the United States.
“I’m very impressed by the work submitted by talented young Kansans this year – it’s a great testament to student artists and their supportive teachers and parents. I look forward to having Alistair’s excellent artistry on display representing the Big First, and for all Capitol visitors to enjoy,” commented Congressman Huelskamp.
Art competition entries are judged by an independent panel of jurors from throughout the First Congressional District. Juror Grace Peterson, Visual Arts Coordinator at Salina Arts & Humanities provided the following statement:
“With all of the wonderful pieces submitted, it was difficult to choose. The technical skill of so many of these young artists was impressive, but after careful consideration we were able to decide some clear winners. As an art educator, I am thrilled to see such high quality work coming from the 1st District. Thank you to all of the young artists who entered this competition. Your work well represents Kansas.”
2015 First Congressional Art Contest Winners
Best of Show:
* Alastair Brillart (Little River H.S.)
* 1st Place – Mariah Renken (Little River H.S.)
* 2nd Place – Erin Hudson (Little River H.S.)
* 1st Place – Shayna Buck (Wheatland H.S.)
* 1st Place – Joseph Moats (St. Mary’s Academy & College)
* 2nd Place – Ana Bermudez (Golden Plains H.S.)
Mixed Media:
* 1st Place – Rebecca Bange (Golden Plains H.S.)
* 2nd Place – Taylor Todd (Golden Plains H.S.)
* 1st Place – Laramie Farris (Goodland H.S.)
* 2nd Place – Tenille Tholen (Wheatland H.S.)