By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Larned to receive Community Development Block Grant
new-vlc_Larned CBDG award.jpg
Kansas Rep. Leonard A. Mastroni, Dist. 117, presented a CBDG award in the amount of $598,497.00 to the City of Larned on Thursday. Pictured here, left to right” Kansas Lt. Gov. Lynn Rogers, Larned City Councilman Kim Barnes, Larned City Manager Brad Eilts, Kansas Rep. Leonard A. Mastroni, Dist. 117, and Kansas Secretary of Commerce David Toland.

TOPEKA — Secretary of Commerce David Toland announced Thursday, Feb. 13,  the award of $598,497 in Community Development Block Grants (CDBG) to Larned. 

The city intends to use these funds to make water distribution system improvements throughout the city. The city has local funds of $598,497 to contribute in matching funds.

Larned Mayor William Nusser stated Friday that the council is focused on taking a very proactive approach with the infrastructure and marketability for the city. 

“Addressing infrastructure is key for the future of our community,” he said. While there is more to be done, the announcement is a boost to the community, and it underscores the work being done to address Larned’s infrastructure. 

“Quality of life is key to economic development,” Secretary Toland said. “This investment in critical infrastructure helps keep communities like Larned competitive as they work to retain and recruit residents and businesses. Governor Kelly and I are proud to support projects in rural communities across our state.” 

Winning this CBDG grant is a great leap forward in improving the city's water distribution system, Nusser stated. 

“The council is tasked with a variety of infrastructure needs and has done a great job handling all competing projects,” he said.  

The CDBG program allows the Department of Commerce to distribute federal funds to Kansas cities and counties looking to improve their communities. CDBG funds are one of Commerce’s primary tools in supporting the state’s small, predominantly rural communities. Each community awarded has a population less than 50,000.