By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Local Emergency Planning Committee to meet

The Barton County Local Emergency Planning Committee will meet at 10 a.m. on Tuesday, January 29 at the Barton County Courthouse. The agenda will include a presentation by Adam Chriss, interoperable communications training and communications specialist, Kansas Division of Emergency Management, concerning resources available to local government; election of chairperson and vice-chairperson; and reports from members.

The main functions of the Barton County Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) are to establish and maintain a Hazardous Materials Plan, conduct exercises of the plan and serve as the contact for the Emergency Planning and Community Right to Know Program, often referred to as SARA Title III. The Barton County LEPC is comprised of representatives from the following groups: elected official; first responders; hospital; community service/civic group; law enforcement; health/medicine/transportation; fire fighting; environment; communications media; and facilities/industries regulated by SARA Title III.

Individuals may contact Amy Miller, Emergency Management director, at 620-793-1919 or by email at for more information concerning the meeting.