By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Local general election candidates listed
Several city, school board spots on Nov. 7 ballot
new deh general election candidates pic web
The Barton County Clerks Office has listed the candidates for the Nov. 7 general election. - photo by Tribune file photo

 The Barton County Clerk’s Office has announced the list of local candidates running in the Nov. 7 general election. On the ballot are a number of city, school and other local positions in Barton county, County Clerk Donna Zimmerman said. 

Although the filing deadline has passed, candidates can still launch a write-in campaign without having to go through the County Clerk’s Office. Any questions concerning the election or candidate qualifications may be directed to the County Clerk’s Office at 620-793-1835.

Candidates include:

• Great Bend (mayor and four City Council positions)

– Mayor:    

Brock R. McPherson

Allene Owen

Joe Andrasek                                           

– Council Ward 1: 

Dan Heath 

H. Mike Boys

– Council Ward 2:

Rachel E. Mawhirter

Matt Suchy

Jolene Biggs

– Council Ward 3:

Stacy Dougherty 

Thomas Boor 

Cory Urban 

– Council Ward 4:

Andrew Scott Erb 

• Hoisington (mayor and four City Council positions)

– Mayor:

Clayton Williamson

Janet M. Hood

– Council Ward  1:

No filing

– Council Ward 2:

Johnathan Durrett

Michael F. Aylward

– Council Ward 3:

James W. Morris

– Council Ward 4:

Christina Smith

Shaun H. Miller                                    


• Ellinwood (mayor and two City Council positions)

– Mayor: 

Irlan Fullbright

– Council:

Alan M. Brauer

Jon L. Prescott

• Claflin (three City Council positions)

– Council:

Doug Hubbard 

Dustin Daniels

Nathaniel Florian 


• Albert (mayor and five City Council positions)

– Mayor: No filings

– Council: No filings

• Galatia (mayor and five City Council positions)

– Mayor: No filings

– Council: No filings

• Olmitz (three City council positions)

– Council:

Curtis Peterson

Shannon D. Peterson

David Bitter

Jim New

• Pawnee Rock (three City council positions)

– Council:

Terry A. Mead

Joyce A. Link

W. Paul Umble

Vickie Alsup

Phyllis Marlene Agee

• Susank (mayor and five City Council positions)

– Mayor: No filings

– Council: No filings

• Barton County College (three Board of Trustee positions)

– Trustee: 

John E. Moshier

Donald Learned

• Ellinwood Hospital District (two Board of Trustee positions)

– Trustee:

Justin Lear

• USD 355 (four School Board positions)

– Board:

Troy L. Moore

Stephen L. Billinger

Virginia Fullbright

Rachel Sieker

• USD 428 (three School Board positions)

– Board:

Donald L. Williams

Deanna Essmiller

Jacqueline M. Disque

Branden Depenbusch

Doug Bender

• USD 431 (three School Board positions)

– Board:

James Wright

Sara Tarlton

Keri Schremmer

Maggie McCain

Kelly Urban