By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Local teacher named semifinalist for Kansas Teacher of the Year
TOY Dreiling 2019
Jenna Dreiling

Jenna L. Dreiling, a first-grade teacher at Riley Elementary School in Great Bend, was named a semifinalist for the Kansas Teach of the Year distinction. The six semifinalists for Region 1, including the two finalists, were announced during a ceremony Saturday at Salina.

Stefanie M. Lane, a fourth-grade mathematics and English language arts teacher at Garfield Elementary School in Clay County Unified School District 379, and Shawn Hornung, a social studies teacher at Wamego High School, were named Region 1 finalists for the 2020 Kansas Teacher of the Year. This award recognizes excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state.

As finalists for the Kansas Teacher of the Year distinction, Lane and Hornug each received a $2,000 cash award from Security Benefit, the major corporate partner for the award program. In addition, they are each now eligible to be named Kansas Teacher of the Year, which will be announced during a ceremony Saturday, Nov. 23, in Wichita.

Other semifinalists were Dreiling; Stephanie M. Drymalski, a music teacher at Meadowlark Elementary School, Liberal; Tanya Szanto, a seventh- through 12th-grade mathematics and technology teacher at Goodland Junior-Senior High School; and Nicole D. Bowers, an art teacher at McPherson Middle School.

Each of the semifinalists received a red marble apple with a wooden base, compliments of The Master Teacher in Manhattan.

This year, 131 educators across the state were nominated for the Kansas Teacher of the Year distinction. Nominations are made in each of four regions in the state.

The mission of the Kansas Teacher of the Year program is to build and utilize a network of exemplary teachers who are leaders in the improvement of schools, student performance and the teaching profession.

The Kansas Teacher of the Year team, comprised of the Teacher of the Year and state finalists, serves as an ambassador for education in Kansas, making public appearances across the state promoting education and the teaching profession.