By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
County staffers recognized by commissioners
new ces county pic.tif
County staffers were recognized by Barton County Commissioners Tuesday, for five, 10, 15, 20 and 25 years of county service. - photo by COURTESY PHOTO

A number of county employees were honored by the Barton County Commission Tuesday when service awards were presented to those who have worked for the county for five, 10, 15, 20 and 25 years.
During the discussion, commissioners commented that they are genuinely impressed with the county employees.
But Commissioner Kenny Schremmer noted that when the area was struck with snow and arctic conditions this month, the Road and Bridge workers once again shoed just how responsive they are.
Schremmer told the commission that he had been contacted by oil haulers, concerned about road conditions in the northern part of the county.
He explained there were spots where the snow had been driven over and then, as temperatures plummeted, ruts were created.
As the trucks filled with oil attempted to drive on the rutted roads, their loads would shift and it was clear that it would be easy for a truck to be forced off the road.
Schremmer said he called Road and Bridge Director Dale Phillips and the response was very quick.
Equipment was dispatched and the ruts were treated, making the county roads safer, again.
Commissioner Don Cates added that, as a new commissioner, he is imprsessed that the county enjoys the level of experience that is has in so many positions.
And Commissioner Jennifer Schartz also commented on the importance of the county maintaining its longevity.
Two county staff members were honored for 25 years of service — Emergency Risk Manager Amy Miller and Barton County Sheriff’s Office Sgt. Brad Patzner.
Other staffers recognized include:
20 years — Bj Wooding, administration; Bev Frizell, health department; Donna Shaffer, health department; Kay Thompson, noxious weed; Bev Schmeidler, records; Steve Hammeke, road and bridge; and Sharon Wondra, sheriff’s office.
15 years — County Attorney Doug Matthews; Dena Popp, communications; and Connie Miller, health department.
10 years — Theresa Detherage, health department; Mike Daniel, juvenile services; and Kurt Schaub, juvenile services.
Five years — Administrator Richard Boeckman; Commissioner Jennifer Schartz; Sylvia Billinger, attorney’s office; Rachel Corn, communications; Kay Owens, communications; Cyndee Christiansen, juvenile services; Ryan Gardner, juvenile services; Stan Behrends, road and bridge; Matt Deschner, road and bridge; Jerald Loesch, road and bridge; Guy Disney, sheriff’s office; and Renee Mater, treasurer’s office.