By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Election times, requirements and candidates listed
Placeholder Image

Advance voting time line
• Noon, today – Deadline to apply for advanced ballots to be mailed.
• Noon, Monday – Deadline for voters to vote advanced ballots in person in the Office of the County Clerk/Election Officer.
•Tuesday, Aug. 7 – Deadline for sick/disabled/illiterate voters to apply for an advanced voting ballot.
• By 7 p.m., Tuesday, Aug. 7 – Advanced ballots must be returned to the County Clerk’s Office  
For more information, contact the Barton County Clerk’s Office at 620-793-1835.

The Aug. 7 primary election is merely days away and the Barton County Clerk’s Office wants to get the word out about voting opportunities, said County Clerk Donna Zimmerman.
Advance voting is still underway with noon today being the application deadline. Noon Monday is the cutoff for advance ballots to be hand-delivered to the clerk’s/election office.
In addition, Zimmerman’s office will be open from 10 a.m. until 2 p.m. Saturday for walk-in advance voting for anyone who wishes to vote prior to Tuesday’s primary. The election office is located on the second floor of the Courthouse in room 202.
On election day Tuesday, polls will be open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. See related story for polling places.
 Federal Election Law requires that voters provide identification. Residents must bring their IDs with them when they come to vote.
 The following forms of identification are valid if they contain the name and photograph of the voter and have not expired. Expired documents are valid if the bearer is aged 65 or older.
• Driver’s license issued by Kansas or another state  
• State identification card
• Government-issued concealed carry handgun or weapon license
• U.S. passport
• Employee badge or identification document issued by a government office or agency
• Military ID
• Student ID issued by an accredited postsecondary institution in Kansas
• Government-issued public assistance ID card
(For more information on Kansas ID visit:
Below is a list of candidates for state and county offices. *(() denotes incumbents.

Barton County Commissioner
Second District                           
No Filings. This seat is currently occupied by commission Chairman Homer Kruckenberg who is petitioning to run as an independent in the November general election
Barton County Commissioner
Third District            
Buck Causey, Great Bend, R
Don Davis, Great Bend, R
County Attorney
Douglas Matthews, Great Bend (I), R

 County Clerk
 Donna Zimmerman, Great Bend (I), R
Register of Deeds                
Pam Wornkey, Ellinwood, R
Greg Armstrong, Great Bend (I), R            
Brian J. Bellendir, Great Bend, R
Richard W. Unrein, Great Bend, R
Kevin Wondra, Great Bend (I), R            
Gayle Cell, Great Bend, R

District Judge Division 2
Robert Anderson Sr., Ellinwood, R
Steve Johnson, Great Bend, R

District Judge Division 3
Mike Keeley, Great Bend (I), D

State House of Representatives
112th District
John Edmonds, Great Bend, R
Steve Muehleisen , Great Bend, D

State Senate 33rd District
Mitch Holmes, St. John, R
Ruth Teichman, Stafford, R
Teichman is the 33rd’s incumbent and Holmes had served the 114th district until redistricting.

There will also be a township trustee and township treasurer elected in each of the following townships elected: Albion, Beaver, Buffalo, Cheyenne, Clarence, Cleveland, Comanche, Eureka, Fairview, Grant, Great Bend, North Homestead, South Homestead, Independent, Lakin, Liberty, Logan, Pawnee Rock, South Bend, Union, Walnut and Wheatland.