By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Election officer offer last-minute tips
Advance voting, polling places addressed
new deh primary election sidebar graphic
Shown is primary election voter turnout over the years.

Kobach predicts higher primary turnout

TOPEKA – Kansas Secretary of State Kris Kobach reminds voters that the last day to cast a vote in the primary election is Tuesday, Aug. 5. He predicts that 22 percent of all registered voters will take part in the primary election this year, either in advance or at the polls.
“Of the 1,735,414 Kansans who are registered to vote,” said Kobach, “I expect approximately 381,790 will cast a ballot in next week ’s primary election. Around 39,115 advance ballots have already been received.”
Kobach said that 2008 is the primary election cycle most similar to 2014 in recent times. Turnout was 22.45  percent  in 2008. 
Not all registered voters are eligible to vote in the primary. It is open only to Kansans who have affiliated with the Democratic Party, the Republican Party, or no political party when registering to vote. Voters affiliated with minor parties do not participate in primary candidate elections. The only minor party currently recognized in our state is the Libertarian Party , and about 0. 7 percent  of all registered voters are affiliated with the Libertarian Party.
Unaffiliated registered voters may vote a Republican or a Democratic ballot on election day by first filling out a new registration form at the polling place to affiliate with the major political party of their choice. The unofficial number of voters affiliated with each recognized political party and no party at the close of voter registration on July 15 are as follows: 422,184 Democratic; 12,655 Libertarian; 765,342 Republican; and 535,233 unaffiliated.

Tuesday is primary election day for Barton County residents, and county Election Officer Donna Zimmerman has a few last advice for voters.
On election day Tuesday, polls will be open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. And, even though federal election law requires that voters provide identification, those who have applied for and are listed as “permanent advanced voters” don’t have to bring their identification.
These voters have a disability or illness, and always cast advanced ballots.
However, every other voters must bring their IDs with them when they come to vote, she said.
Noon Monday is the deadline for voters to vote advanced ballots in person in the County Clerk’s Office, located on the second floor of the Courthouse in room 202. Tuesday is the deadline for sick/disabled/illiterate voters to apply for an advanced voting ballot and 7 p.m. Tuesday is the deadline for advanced ballots be returned to the County Clerk’s Office.
 But, voters don’t have to come to the courthouse to vote. Below are the polling places across Barton County:
Barton County voting places 
Hoisington City: 1st and 2nd Wards - Meeting Room #1, Hoisington Activity Center, 1200 Susank Road, Main Entrance; 3rd and 4th Wards - Meeting Room #2, Hoisington Activity Center, 1200 Susank Road, Main Entrance
Great Bend City: 1st Precinct – 1st Ward - Barton County Courthouse, 1st Floor Public Meeting Room 101; 2nd Precinct – 1st Ward - First Presbyterian Church, Washington and 24th, Northwest Entrance; 3rd Precinct – 1st Ward - Great Bend Rec Commission, Activity Center, 2715 18th, East Main Entrance; 1st Precinct – 2nd Ward - Trinity Lutheran Church, 2701 24th, Jefferson St. Entrance, South Side; 2nd Precinct – 2nd Ward - First Congregational United, Church of Christ 3400 21st; 3rd Precinct – 2nd Ward - Patrick’s Parish Center, 4100 Broadway; 1st Precinct – 3rd Ward, 2nd Precinct – 3rd Ward and 3rd Precinct – 3rd Ward - Grace Community Church, 210 McKinley, North Entrance; 1st Precinct – 4th Ward, 2nd Precinct – 4th Ward and 3rd Precinct – 4th -  Ward - Front Door City of Great Bend, 1615 10th Street.
Albion, Eureka, North Homestead, and South Homestead townships: Hoisington Activity Center, 1200 Susank Road, Hoisington, Arts and Crafts Room, Entrance on northeast side; Beaver, Cleveland and Union townships: Beaver Fire Station,  588 1st Ave., Beaver; Buffalo and Liberty townships: Faith Community Church Family Center, 293 West Barton Co. Rd – B, Great Bend, South Entrance; Cheyenne, Independent and Logan townships: Immaculate Conception Parish Hall, 110 E. Williamson, Claflin; Clarence and Walnut-Albert townships: Albert City Building, 2006 Main St., Albert; Comanche and Lakin townships: St. Joseph Parish Center, 110 West 2nd, Ellinwood; Fairview, Grant and Wheatland townships: Galatia Fire Station, 503 Main St., Galatia; Great Bend Township A: Barton County Community College, Science & Math Building; Great Bend Township B, South Bend Township: Barton County Historical Society Building, 85 S U.S. 281, Great Bend; Pawnee Rock Township: Pawnee Rock Depot, 410 Centre St., Pawnee Rock; Walnut-Olmitz Township: Knights of Columbus Hall, 209 Main, Olmitz.
The general election falls on Tuesday, Nov. 4. For more information, contact the Barton County Clerk’s Office at 620-793-1835.