By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
LWV to hold candidate forum
Placeholder Image

The Great Bend League of Women Voters will hold a candidates’ forum for those filed to run in April 7 primary election. The event is set for 7 p.m. Thursday, July 19, at the Crest Theater, 1905 Lakin in Great Bend.
According to Rose Kelly, LWV voter services chairperson, invited are candidates for Barton County register of deeds, sheriff, treasurer, commission and district judge, as well as for state House and Senate. All the candidates have been contacted.
But, she said, not all the office seekers have responded to the league’s invitation. So, a final list of who will attend has not been determined.
Kelly will act as moderator and ask the candidates questions prepared in advance by LWV members, and the attendees will draw them at random. However, Kelly said, the district judge candidates may be present, but by law, they cannot be asked questions during the forum. They will be available for questions from the public during the break.
The forum is free and open to the public and sponsored by the Great Bend Tribune.
It will be broadcast live over the Internet by the Tribune. To view the webcast, visit and look for the forum link.
Below is a list of those who have filed for the above-mentioned races, their hometowns and their party affiliations provided by the Barton County Clerk’s Office. All have been invited to the forum.
An “I” indicates incumbent, “R,” Republican, and “D,” Democrat.

County Commissioner
Second District                           
No Filings. This seat is currently occupied by commission Chairman Homer Kruckenberg                                 
County Commissioner
Third District            
Buck Causey, Great Bend, R
Don Davis, Great Bend, R
County Attorney
Douglas Matthews, Great Bend (I), R

 County Clerk
 Donna Zimmerman, Great Bend (I), R
Register of Deeds                
Pam Wornkey, Ellinwood (I), R
Greg Armstrong, Great Bend (I), R            
Brian J. Bellendir, Great Bend, R
Richard W. Unrein, Great Bend, R
Kevin Wondra, Great Bend (I), R            
Gayle Cell, Great Bend, R

District Judge Division 2
Robert Anderson Sr., Ellinwood, R
Steve Johnson, Great Bend, R

District Judge Division 3
Mike Keeley, Great Bend (I), D

State House of Representatives
112th District
John Edmonds, Great Bend, R
Steve Muehleisen, Great Bend, D

State Senate 33rd District
Mitch Holmes, St. John, R
Ruth Teichman, Stafford, R
Teichman is the 33rd’s incumbent and Holmes had served the 114th district until redistricting.