By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Larned National Honor Society inducts 15 students
paw jm NHS--LHS
Courtesy Photo The Larned High School National Honor Society members pose for a group photo.

LARNED — Fifteen Larned High students were inducted into the Larned Chapter of the National Honor Society Tuesday.
NHS President Steven Seltman opened the ceremony, followed by a prayer by Regan Quick. Sarah Liston welcomed the new inductees, and Secretary Bailey Schartz gave a history of Larned’s chapter.
The candlelight ceremony was presented by Nolan Allison, who spoke on character, Michael Wysong on scholarship, Kimberly Gobin on leadership, and Cody Keenan on service.
The inductees signed the NHS membership book and received their certificates and membership cards. Seltman led the members in saying the pledge.
Following the ceremony, Lindsey Higgins and Veronica Higgins gave inspirational quotes and explained why they were of personal significance.
Rachael Herter, accompanied by Lorna Singer, sang, “Quella Fiama.”
Alex Lessard, NHS vice-president, closed the ceremony by inviting the guests to join them in the student lounge for punch and cookies provided by the current members.
The Larned Chapter of the National Honor Society is committed to excellence in the four core areas of scholarship, leadership, character, and service. Those LHS juniors and seniors who hold at least a 3.5 GPA, show leadership in-and-out of the classroom, strive to live with integrity, honesty, and responsibility, and are willing to commit to 25 hours of community service a year are eligible for induction into the LHS chapter.
Along with being accountable in the four core areas, the LHS National Honor Society members are responsible for the following group commitments — take care of LHS recycling, maintain the LHS courtyard, work at Larned’s community theater, serve as hosts for a Red Cross Blood Drive, pick up trash after football and basketball games, and organize and conduct freshman orientation.
The members strive to maintain excellence in the classroom and attempt to grow into compassionate individuals and positive contributors to their community.
Current National Honor Society members are seniors Nolan Allison, Ethan Banman, Braeden Bert, Kimberly Gobin, Rachael Herter, Lindsey Higgins, Veronica Higgins, Cody Keenan, Alex Lessard, Reagan Quick, Bailey Schartz, Steven Seltman and Michael Wysong.
New NHS inductees are senior Jacey Bishop and juniors Abigail Ayre, Caulan Brooks, Shealon Calkins, Danni Chilcott, Roxanne Foster, Makenzie Harper, Jessica Johnson, Emily Lucas, Erin Padilla, Easton Palmer, Corrine Quick, Michael Reece, Allison Stejskal and Jansyn Van Horn.