By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Races abound for USD 495 BOE
Pawnee County logo.jpg
Pawnee County KS official logo.

PAWNEE COUNTY — Due to the number of filings, no Aug. 1 primary election will be required in Pawnee County. 

However, while many city government candidates will be running unopposed in the Nov. 7 election, races have developed in all four positions on the ballot for USD 495 Board of Education.

At the close of filing at noon Thursday, three of the four incumbent members had filed for re-election: Brent Hemken, board president in position 1; Jade Meyer, in position 2 and Brian Carlton, board vice-president in at-large position 7.

Board member Vance Smith, in position 3, did not re-file. 

Three filings were received by the Pawnee County Clerk’s Office for that position. Three sitting members of the board have terms that expire in 2026. They are: Charles “Buddy” Tabler, position 4; Michelle Koch, position 5 and Jessie Pleasant, position 6.

Here is a list of all filings in the county as provided by the Clerk’s Office:

• City of Larned — mayor and four councilmembers, one from each ward:

Mayor, William A. Nusser

Council Ward 1, Rusty McClendon

Council Ward 2, Terry Clark

Council Ward 3, Josh Riedel

Council Ward 4, Kim Barnes

• City of Burdett — mayor and two councilmembers

Mayor, Linda Schadel

City Council

Amber Uresti and Burke Pelton

• City of Rozel — mayor and two councilmembers

Mayor, Erin A. Josefiak

City Council

Faye Grandy and Rich Foos

• City of Garfield — mayor and five councilmembers

Mayor, Denise Hoch

City Council

Kevin Ford, Martha Cates, Caleb Prescott and Art Fanucchi

• USD 495 Board of Education — positions 1, 2, 3, and 7 at-large

Position 1

Brent Hemken, Heather Helvie

Position 2

Jade Meyer, Jeremy R. Myrick, Kevin Tyson Atteberry

Position 3

Jessie Miller, Tyson Steffen

Position 7

Brian Carlton, Mike Myrick

• USD 496 School Board — positions 1, 2, 4, 7 and 6 (unexpired term)

Kayla Josefiak, Katie Hammeke, Brandon Enabnit, Roger Scott and Tracy Lee Hands