By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Supreme Court reappoints 11 members to Kansas Board for Discipline of Attorneys
gbtribune news logo anvil app

TOPEKA—The Kansas Supreme Court reappointed 11 members to the Kansas Board for Discipline of Attorneys. They will serve four-year terms beginning July 1 and ending June 30, 2025.

Reappointed were: Gregory Bauer, Great Bend; Jeffrey Chubb, Independence; Shaye Downing, Lawrence; John Duma, Olathe; Rebecca Faurot, Scott City; Terry Mann, Wichita; Kathryn Marsh, Leawood; Mira Mdivani, Overland Park; Derek L. Roberson, Manhattan; Kala Spigarelli, Pittsburg; and Darcy Williamson, Topeka.

The Office of the Disciplinary Administrator works under the direction of the Supreme Court. The disciplinary administrator reviews and investigates misconduct complaints filed against attorneys. The office also presents cases to the Kansas Board for Discipline of Attorneys, recommends discipline to the Supreme Court in serious matters, and provides education and resources to Kansas attorneys to prevent misconduct. 

John Gatz, Colby, chairs the board, and Roberson is vice chair. They serve on the review committee, along with at-large member Leslie Miller, Lawrence. The committee reviews all cases docketed for investigation and issues reports on case dispositions. Disposition can be dismissal (with or without a letter of caution), diversion, informal admonition, or formal charges.  

Board members are attorneys from across the state. They meet in three-person panels to conduct hearings. Each panel includes two board members and one at-large attorney. Panels hear cases after the review committee has found probable cause that an attorney has violated the Kansas Rules of Professional Conduct and that published discipline is warranted.  

Other members of the board are: Stephen Cavanaugh, Topeka; Thomas Hammond II, Overland Park; Glen Kerbs, Dodge City; John Larson, Shawnee; Stacy Ortega, Wichita; James Rankin, Topeka; Lee Smithyman, Overland Park; and Gaye Tibbets, Wichita.