By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
VFW Auxiliary Post 3111 brings home awards
Lois Marshall receives service award
VFW award Lois Marshall 2019
Former Kansas VFW Ladies Auxiliary President Lois Marshall, 93, holds her Esther McComb certificate of recognition, presented by Doug Fuhr, left, President of the Great Bend VFW Auxiliary Post 3111, and Pat Briggs, the outgoing State Commander.

Members of the Veterans of Foreign Wars Auxilary Post 3111 traveled to the state convention at McPherson earlier this month and brought home several awards, according to Doug Fuhr, president of the local auxiliary. They also delivered one special award to a life member here in Great Bend.

Lois Marshall is 93 years old and has been a member of the VFW since 1958. Fuhr and the outgoing State Commander Pat Briggs from Lyons presented Marshall with the Esther McComb Award. Briggs is also a member of the Great Bend post. Brandon Kultgen of Great Bend became the new state commander on June 9.

The certificate Marshall received notes that the award is “for her years of outstanding auxiliary service” to the Kansas Veterans of Foreign Wars. It bears the motto, “She also served.”

Marshall served as the auxiliary’s state president in 1979-1980 and was also a local post president, Fuhr said.

Evelyn McCune, who served as state president the year after Marshall, now lives in Florida but came to Kansas for the VFW State Convention, held June 7-9 in McPherson. She also visited Marshall in Great Bend. McCune was joined by her daughter Kim and Kim’s daughter Tessa Butcher of Newton, who is now the junior vice commander for the state. 

VFW Auxiliary Post 3111 received these awards at McPherson:

• Veterans & Military Support Programs, certificate of recognition

• Citation of Designation - Healthy Auxiliary

• Certificate of Achievement - Obtaining 100 percent membership retention/recruitment

• Certificate of Appreciation: Best overall community outreach event

• Citation of Recognition: Outstanding Patriot’s Pen Program

• Certificate of Appreciation - Buddy Poppy Drive.

Observing D-Day

Post members also observed the 75th anniversary of D-Day on June 6 by traveling to the Dwight D. Eisenhower Library and Museum in Abilene that day and standing vigil.