By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Voters to head to polls Tuesday
Voting places listed, questions addressed
election pic
Voters will head to the polls Tuesday for local general elections. - photo by Tribune file photo

 Those who have filed for the Tuesday’s general election include:

The candidates include:

Great Bend

(4 City Council Positions)


Vicki Berryman, Ward 1

Joel B. Jackson, Ward 2              

No Candidate, Ward 3 

Brock R. McPherson, Ward 4              


(Four City Council positions)

Council:, Travis Sinn, Ward 1

Carrol Nather, Ward 2

James E. Sekavec, Ward 2

Don Doerschlag, Ward 3

Karen VanBrimmer, Ward 3

Robert Bruce, Ward 4

Brian Wilborn, Ward 4



(Three City Council positions)


Kirk Clawson

James McCormick

Ellinwood Hospital District

(Two Board member positions)

Board Member:

Diann O’Neal

Joyce Schulte

With Barton County voters casting their ballots Tuesday for local general elections, Election Officer Donna Zimmerman has some last–minute reminders.

Polls will be open at 7 a.m. and close at 7 p.m. Voters are reminded to bring their photo ID with them to the polls.   

Noon Monday is the deadline for voters to vote advanced ballots in person in Zimmerman’s office, located on the second floor of the Courthouse in room 202. Tuesday is the deadline for sick/disabled/illiterate voters to apply for an advanced voting ballot.

All advanced ballots must be returned to the County Clerk’s Office by 7 p.m., Tuesday.  

There will be a general election for city council positions in the cities of Great Bend, Hoisington and Ellinwood. Also on the ballot is an Ellinwood Hospital District Board of Trustees member.  

But, voters don’t have to come to the courthouse to vote. They can vote election day by going to their voting location.  

Below are the polling places across Barton County:

• Great Bend City: First Ward – Great Bend Recreation Commission Activity Center, 2715 18th St., East Main entrance; Second Ward – First Congregational United, Church of Christ 3400 21st; Third Ward – Grace Community Church, 210 McKinley, North Entrance;  Fourth Ward – Front Door City of Great Bend, 1615 10th St.

• Hoisington City: First and Second wards – Meeting Room Number 1, Hoisington Activity Center, 1200 Susank Rd., Main Entrance; Third and Fourth Wards – Meeting Room Number 2, Hoisington Activity Center, 1200 Susank Rd., Main Entrance.

• Ellinwood City and Ellinwood District Hospital Board, all Comanche and Lakin townships, St. Joseph Parish Center, 110 West Second, Ellinwood.

For more information, contact the Barton County Clerk’s Office at 620–793–1835.