By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Panther tennis places fourth at WAC
GBHS Panther logo clr
Members of the 2021 GBMS volleyball team are front row—Lainey Smith, Jadynce Schroeder, Shatarah Newton, Henley Nairn, Rhett Nairn; second row—Hayley Suchy, Allie Gerhardt, Braelyn Turner, Kaitlyn Dreiling, Camryn Post, Alyvia Batchman, Miya Nachtigal, Kamryn Koelsch, Kya Behr, Meredith Mazouch, MacKenzie Lindberg, Jaselyn Werth, Heidi Jording, Braylee Carper, Kynli Shull; third row—Maddison Gaddis, Sophia Cale, Remmi Burkes, Katelyn Roddey, Ava Kaiser, Lydia Schaub, Alex Mayers, Araceli Aguilera, Zoey Mayberry, Sophia Elsen. back row—Naima Zapita, Gabriella Tomlin, Chalya Prenderegast, Kourtnee Leech, Olivia Boone, Madelynne Siefkes, Kimmy Hofflinger, Katherine Mazouch, Denver Ringo, Tatum Anderson, Alyssa McCulley, Kyra Lewis.

LIBERAL — Great Bend’s No. 2 singles Hayden Honomichl (3-1) placed runner-up to Garden City’s Aaron Shaffer in Monday’s Western Athletic Conference Tennis Tournament. The temperature hit 65 degrees with a 20-25 mph north wind.

Great Bend’s No. 1 singles Matthew Phillips (0-4) played one match before sustaining an ankle injury. No. 1 doubles Josh Hoisington-Malachi Williams (1-3) finished fourth. No. 2 doubles Jordan Popp-oger Arias (2-2) placed third. 

Garden City’s No. 1 singles Huy Nguyen, No. 1 doubles Will Keller-Daniel Darter and No. 2 doubles Nathan Morren-Tyler Morren all finished with 4-0 records.

Will Keller was named WAC Player of the Year. Garden City’s Rod Robinson was named Coach of the Year.


1—Garden City 16; 2—Dodge City 10; 3—Hays High 7; 4—Great Bend 6; 5—Liberal 1


1—Huy Nguyen, GC, 4-0 

2—Zac Wyse, HH, 3-1 

3—Lakin Scheck, DC, 2-2 

4—Erick Rodriguez, L, 1-3 

5—Matthew Phillips, GB, 0-4 

Nguyen def. Wyse, 8-0; Nguyen def. Scheck, 8-2; Nguyen def. Rodriguez, 8-0; Nguyen def. Phillips, 8-0; Wyse def. Scheck, 8-2; Wyse def. Rodriguez, 8-1; Wyse def. Phillips, forfeit; Scheck def. Rodriguez, 8-2; Scheck def. Phillips, forfeit; Rodriguez def. Phillips, forfeit


1—Aaron Shaffer, GC, 4-0 

2—Hayden Honomichl, GB, 3-1 

3—Arturo Redondo, DC, 2-2 

3—Chris Goodale, HH, 1-3 

5—Jack Maxwell, L, 0-4  

Shaffer def. Honomichl, 8-3; Shaffer def. Redondo, 8-5; Shaffer def. Goodale, 8-4; Shaffer def. Maxwell, 8-1; Honomichl def. Redondo, 8-7 (8-6); Honomichl def. Goodale, 8-1; Honomichl def. Maxwell, 8-2; Redondo def. Goodale, 8-5; Redondo def. Maxwell, 8-3; Goodale def. Maxwell, 8-5


1—Will Keller-Danil Darter, GC, 4-0 

2—Cannon Bunkall-Alex Ramirez, DC, 3-1 

3—Seth Shorb-Brandon Kennemer, HH, 2-2 

4—Josh Hoisington-Malachi Williams, GB, 1-3 

5—Ivan Armendariz-Alex Perez, L, 0-4 

GC def. DC, 8-2; GC def. HH, 8-2; GC def. GB, 8-2; GC def. Liberal, 8-0; DC def. HH, 8-3; DC def. GB, 8-5; DC def. Liberal, 8-2; HH def. GB, 8-2; HH def. Liberal, 8-1; GB def. Liberal, 8-3 



1—Nathan Morren-Tyler Morren, GC 4-0 

2—Erik Martinez-Chris Velez, DC, 3-1 

3—Jordan Popp-Roger Arias, GB, 2-2  

4—Eli Zimmerman-Adam King, HH, 1-3 

5—Cristobal Sanchez-Bryan Symons, L, 0-4 

GC def. DC, 8-1; GC def. GB, 8-1; GC def. HH, 8-1; GC def. Liberal, 8-1; DC def. GB, 8-1; DC def. HH, 8-1; DC def. Liberal, 8-2; GB def. HH, 8-6; GB def. Liberal, 8-1; HH def. Liberal, 8-5