By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Oilers earn state championship berth
Central Plains posts ninth shutout
spt_deh_cphs fball defense.jpg
A host of Central Plains High School Oilers, including Brett Liebl (44), Lawson Oeser (21) and Myles Menges (4) swarm St. Francis Indian runner Shadryon Blanka (12) in the 2A state semi-final game Saturday afternoon at Claflin. - photo by BY DALE HOGG Great Bend Tribune



CLAFLIN – The St. Francis Indians were well protected from the bitter chill.

The Central Plains Oiler defense was waiting in the bone-chilling 15-degree chill index for the late-arriving Indians in the 8-man Division 1 football semifinal.

By the time the No. 1 Oilers finished a 42-0 rout of St. Francis Saturday, the Indians wished they would’ve stayed in the heated locker room.

Alex Hickel intercepted a pass and nose guard Mason Doll led a sure-tackling effort that held the Indians to three first downs and 91 yards on 10 drives.

“We played pretty well and everyone did their job,” said Doll, who had several tackles for losses. “We knew we had to play great up the middle. Our defensive ends contained their sweep. It worked well for us. We prepare the same way for every team.”

The Oilers (12-0) earned their ninth shutout of the season heading to next week’s state championship against Solomon. The Oilers have yielded four touchdowns in 12 games.

Indian tailback Jordan Raby, a 1,300-yard rusher, gained 22 yards on 20 carries. Eight drives ended without a first down.

“Our defense and offense played really well,” said Central Plains coach Chris Steiner. “It was an all-around team effort. Hickel ran huge and the offensive line made some huge holes.”

Tailback Hickel highlighted a three-touchdown afternoon with a 65-yard scoring dash. He rushed for 233 yards behind center Kealy Burris, guards Brett Liebl and Mason Doll and ends Grant Heldstab and Devin Ryan.

“I give all the credit to my offensive line. They blocked their hearts out and worked to the whistle,” Hickel said.

Hickel said the Oilers prepare every week with hard work.

“We come out to play like we’re playing the best team in the state every week,” Hickel said. “That was one of my better games of the year. I came out and ran hard. I don’t want to take plays off.”

Quarterback Myles Menges rushed for two touchdowns and completed a 38-yard touchdown pass to Devin Ryan. The Oilers covered 42, 61, 63, 65 65 and 68 yards on their scoring drives.

Menges escaped a sack against Jesse Baxter and completed the touchdown pass to Devin Ryan. Menges scored after Hickel’s interception and Hickel’s 6-yard touchdown gave the Oilers a 22-0 halftime lead.

Hickel raced 65 yards and added a 6-yard touchdown dash after halftime.

The Indians average 46 points per game. But the Oilers dominated the line of scrimmage and gang tackled the ball carrier.

Quarterback Brady Dinkel gained two first downs on keepers and Cody Baxter caught a desperation pass for a first down. But the Oilers stopped the Indians at the 13-yard line.

Steiner said the Indians made the Oilers work for their victory.

“St. Francis played hard and never gave in,” Steiner said. “They are fast and play hard. They kept playing. They never laid back.”

St. Francis 0 0 0 0—0

Central Plains 16 6 14 6 – 42

CP—Devin Ryan 38 pass from Myles Menges (Menges run)—8:17

CP—Menges 1 run (Alex Hickel run)—4:18

CP—Hickel 6 run (pass failed)—0:30

CP—Menges 1 run (pass failed)—7:30

CP—Hickel 65 run (Lawson Oeser run)—5:32

CP—Hickel 7 run (run failed)—7:11


RUSHING—SF—39-80; Brady Dinkel 16-50; Jordan Raby 20-22; Shadyron Blanka 2-5; Cody Baxter 1-3; CP—56-325; Hickel 34-233; Menges 7-52; Jerred Bieberle 7-26; Lawson Oeser 3-12; William Laymon 2-2; Michael Menges 1-0

PASSING—SF—Dinkel 1-8-1, 11; CP—Menges 6-11-1, 50

RECEIVING—SF—Cody Baxter 1-11; CP—Ryan 2-47; Bieberle 1-2; Oeser 2-2; Heldstab 1-(-1)


3 p.m.–Central Plains 12-0 vs.Solomon 11-1


Central Plaiins 42, St. Francis 0

Solomon  28, Canton-Galva 12


Central Plains 54, Hoxie 6

St. Francis 30, Hodgeman Co. 20

Solomon 14, Attica-Argonia 6

Canton-Galva 54, South Central 52, OT


Central Plains 50, Ness City 0

Hoxie 22, Clifton-Clyde 20

Hodgeman Co. 76, Spearville 48

St. Francis 30, Victoria 12

Attica-Argonia 42, Udall 36

Solomon 30, Madison 26

South Central 48, Central Burden 0

Canton-Galva 74, Burlingame 26


Central Plains 50, South Gray 0

Ness City 44, Macksville 20

Clifton-Clyde 60, WaKeeney Treo 14

Hoxie 46, Hill City 30

Hodgeman Co. 38, Moundridge 20

Spearville 54, Little River 24

 St. Francis 46, Stockton 0

Victoria 34, Leoti Wichita Co. 28

Attica-Argonia 28, Sedan 8

Udall 62, Oswego 26

Madison 46, Peabody 0

Solomon 52, Shawnee Maranatha 0

South Central 50, Cedar Vale 0

Central Burden 32, Caldwell 12

Canton-Galva 54, Lebo 6

Burlingame 70, Bennington 36


2018—8MAN1—Central Plains 56, South Gray 0; Central Plains 50, Ness City 0; Central Plains 54, Hoxie 6; Central Plains 42, St. Francis 0; Central Plains vs. Solomon

2017—8MAN1—Central Plains 58, Macksville 12; Spearville 32, Central Plains 28

2016—8MAN1—Central Plains 60, Argonia-Attica 20; Spearville 58, Central Plains 26 

2015—8MAN1—Central Plains 46, Kiowa County 0; Spearville 58, Central Plains 28 

2014—8MAN1—Central Plains 50, South Central 14; Central Plains 42, Spearville 40; Central Plains 32, Ness City 0; FINALS—Central Plains 42, Hanover 30

2013—8MAN1—Central Plains 36, South Central 14; Hodgeman County 44, Central Plains 36

2011—8MAN1—Central Plains 50, Quinter 22; South Gray 52, Central Plains 6


2002—2A FINALS—Pittsburg Colgan 29, Claflin 8 

2001—2A FINALS—Pittsburg Colgan 23, Claflin 20 

2000—2A FINALS—Pittsburg Colgan 33, Claflin 12

1999—2A FINALS—Claflin 52, Pittsburg Colgan 34 

1998—2A FINALS—Claflin 30, Frankfort 16

1997—2A FINALS—Claflin 22, Centralia 12

1992—8MAN2 FINALS—Claflin 44, Midway-Denton 0

1991—8MAN2 FINALS—Claflin 48, St. Paul 0

1990—8MAN2 FINALS—Hanston 60, Claflin 14

1989—8MAN2 FINALS—Hanston 70, Claflin 24

1984—2A FINALS—Pittsburg Colgan 21, Claflin 14


2009—8MAN1 FINALS—Hanover 66, Quivira Heights 36  

1993—8MAN1 FINALS—Pretty Prairie 36, Quivira Heights 20  

1984—8MAN1 FINALS—Midway-Denton 54, Quivira Heights 34 

1983—8MAN1 FINALS—Quivira Heights 37, Logan 12