By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Hoisington LB headlines CKL team
4 Kyle Lang 51 Landen Urban
Hoisington linebacker Landon Urban (51) defends during action this past season. - photo by DAN WITT Special to the Tribune


HOISINGTON — All-Central Kansas League linebacker Landen Urban of Hoisington High School has been selected by the Topeka Capital Journal on the Top 11 All-Class football team. Urban is a two-time All-CKL offensive line and linebacker selection.
At right guard, Urban led a Cardinal offensive line that produced more 5,000 yards and scored 73 touchdowns. Urban started at center as a ninth-grader and sophomore. Defensively, Landen was a rotational player on the defensive line as a freshman before earning a starting spot as a sophomore.
“Landen was a physical player and that’s our identity as a football team,” said Hoisington coach Zach Baird. “He adjusted really well to playing linebacker and he was a perfect fit for our defense.”
The 6-2, 260-pound Urban had 101 tackles and assists.
“He worked extremely hard to achieve his goals,” Baird said. “He’s worked hard in the weight room to become into a better football player.”
Urban led the Cardinals in tackles the past two years at linebacker. He finished his career with 363 career tackles, 12 sacks, two interceptions, and five forced fumbles. Urban played his ninth-grade and sophomore years at defensive end. Urban was recognized as one of the most physical players in the state and led a stout Cardinal defense.
Hoisington (12-1, 6-0 CKL) captured the Central Kansas League title and lost in the Class 3A football semifinals to CKL rival Hesston 35-19.
Also named on the CKL-first team were Hoisington’s TB Hunter Hanzlick, OL Justin Bradley, DL Ben Schneider, LB Justin Bradley and DB Cameron Davis. Earning second-team honors were RB Cameron Davis, LB Hunter Hanzlick. QB Tyler Specht earned honorable mention.
Larned’s All-CKL selections were first-team DB Kolby Keith; second-team punter Brock Skelton, LB Nate Williams, OL De’Shaun Clark and WR Dalton Bright. Earning honorable mention were DL De’Shaun Clark and DB Anthony McConnell.
Eleven CKL teams vied for all-league spots.

QB—Zach Esau, Hesstron, sr.
RB—Layke Heimerman, Halstead, sr.; Hunter Hanzlick, Hoisington, sr.; Travis Theis, Pratt, so.
WR—Zach Vogt, Hesston, sr.; Braden Stewart, Nickerson, sr.; Hunter Kaufman, Pratt, sr.
OL—Landen Urban, Hoisington, sr.; Justin Bradley, Hoisington, sr.; Gage Hardtarfer, Halstead, sr.; Garth Henke, Nickerson, sr.; Traik Peltier, Pratt, sr.
PK—Jordan Cedeno, Lyons, sr.
P—Jordan Cedeno, Lyons, sr.
SPECIALIST—Hunter Kaufman, Pratt, sr.

DL—Ben Schneider, Hoisington, sr.; Gage Hardtarfer, Halstead, sr.; Traik Peltier, Pratt, sr.; Beck Elliott, Smoky Valley, sr.
LB—Landen Urban, Hoisington, sr.; Justin Bradley, Hoisington, sr.; Layke Heimerman, Halstead, sr.; Austin O’Toole, Nickerson, sr.
DB—Cameron Davis, Hoisington, sr.; Kolby Keith, Larned, sr.; Chase VanSteenburg, Halstead, sr.; Braden Stewart, Nickerson, sr.

QB—Chase VanSteenburg, Halstead, sr.
RB—Cameron Davis, Hoisington, sr.; Austin O’Toole, Nickerson, sr.; Kyle Anderson, Smoky Valley, jr.
WR—Jacob Funk, Hillsboro, sr.; Dalton Bright, Larned, sr.; Jacob Adams, Smoky Valley, jr.
OL—Jake Wingfield, Hesston, sr.; Adam Meng, Kingman, jr.; Deshaun Clark, Larned, sr.; Camron Stewart, Nickerson, jr.; Beck Elliott, Smoky Valley, sr.
SPECIALIST—Tony Morris, Halstead, sr.
PK—Noah Myers, Pratt, sr.
P—Brock Skelton, Larned, fr.; Noah Myers, Pratt, sr.

DL—Jake Wingfield, Hesston, sr.; Jack Govert, Kingman, jr.; Dawson Cox, Pratt, sr.; Skyler DeMott, Smoky Valley, sr.
LB—Hunter Hanzlick, Hoisington, sr.; Nate Williams, sr., Larned; Logan Baird, Pratt, sr.; Riley Odell, Smoky Valley, jr.
DB—Zach Vogt, Hesston, sr.; Zach Esau, Hesston, sr.; Hunter Kaufman, Pratt, sr.; Travis Theis, Pratt, so.

QB—Thane Unruh, Haven, jr.; Tanner Schrag, Nickerson, so.; Tyler Specht, Hoisington, sr.
RB—Tony Morris, Halstead, sr.; Payton Pickering, Kingman, sr.
OL—Allan Wampler, Smoky Valley, sr.; Kodi Dale, Haven, jr.; Bryce Stegman, Pratt, sr.

DL—Deshaun Clark, Larned, sr.; Tyson Reimer, Hillsboro, sr.; Elliot Ollenburger, Hillsboro, jr.; Garrett Forsberg, Smoky Valley, sr.
LB—Anthony McConnell, Larned, jr.; Riley Kirkhart, Lyons, sr.; TJ Powell, Nickerson, jr.